The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subdomain on a subdomain?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by casey, Aug 6, 2003.

  1. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    A customer has made the following request:

    domain.com/yellow --> yellow.domain.com
    yellow.domain.com --> yellow.com

    So far, so good. But now, she wants to do the following:

    domain.com/yellow/green --> green.yellow.com

    Is this possible? I am getting confused and don't know how such a thing would be setup.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    He can create a sub-domain under the addon domain from the sub-domains page in cPanel. I did not try it though but it should work.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Thanks for the suggestion, Mahmoud. I hadn't thought of that. After you mentioned it, I went in and looked at my customer's control panel, and she had already tried that. When such an attempt is made, cpanel sets up the subdomain as green.domain.com, not green.yellow.com.

    I've tried doing it manually in httpd.conf, but I can't get it working. Is this even possible?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Silverado

    Silverado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Backyard - Poolside
    While I am not a 100% on this... I am pretty sure you cannot create a subdomain within a subdomain.
    The only way I can think to do this is to make a directory in the subdomain... but then it will look like: yellow.domain.com/green/ instead of the way you originally wanted it as green.yellow.domain.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    Even possible : Sure, You can create a sub-domain which it's root (home) any folder you want.

    It's a bug, read below.

    well, you can even create whatever.inwhatever.besidewhatever.forever.sub.domain.com
    but not through cpanel or any other control panel.

    anyway he wanted it to be green.yellow.com.

    There is no problem in that. but just cPanel does not add it correctly. I remember that it is an old bug and was reported but still not fixed.

    Read: http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?s=&postid=54575&highlight=subdomain#post54575

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #5 mmkassem, Aug 6, 2003
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2003
  6. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Thanks for the link. I'll try it now.:)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page