The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subdomain on different IP or port

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tgavin, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a domain with several subdomains. I want to set up SSL for these subdomains.
    The SSL company told me that all I have to do is put each subdomain on a different port or IP. How can I do this?
     
  2. ccccanada

    ccccanada Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    in whm you can create the subdomain as a sepparate domain with its own IP address
     
  3. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks. how?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Create each subdomain as its own cPanel account, and give it a dedicated IP as you would with creating a cPanel account that had a domain.
     
  5. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Okay, I did that. I'm guessing my next step would be to add an entry for this in the DNS server? Or would I just do that in WHM under DNS? if the latter, do I just add a new A record, or what?

    I didn't mention this previously, not sure if it matters, but the SSL cert that I have as a Multi Domain Cert that is already installed on the server.

    Thanks!
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When you created the accounts and checked the option for dedicated IP, that automatically assigned a dedicated IP address to that account. There should be no need for a manual DNS edit.
     
  7. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Why are you needing to put the subdomain on a different ip? A multi domain cert should be able to all use one ip. :rolleyes:
     
  8. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I'm sorry. By DNS server I meant the DNS system at The Planet. See, if you type in the URL with https://, it still goes to the main domain in public_html, instead of public_html/subdomain
     
  9. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The support guy at Comodo said nope. They have to be on a separate IP or port, or else they will keep going to the public_html folder of the main domain. Of course he could be wrong. That's why I'm here :)
     
    #9 tgavin, Mar 26, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2008
  10. tooper12

    tooper12 Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thank you admin, i was here for this problem, and its now solved by this way,, thanks again :)
     
  11. tgavin

    tgavin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This makes no sense.

    Here are the steps so far
    1. Added domain.com to server
    2. Created sub1.domain.com in domain.com/cpanel
    3. Created sub2.domain.com in domain.com./cpanel
    4. Created multi domain cert for domain.com (cert was for sub1.domain.com,sub2.domain.com,www.domain.com)
    5. Installed cert using WHM
    6. If I go to https://sub1.domain.com, or https://sub2.domain.com I get redirected to domain.com's public_html folder/index.html (even though address bar shows https://sub1.domain.com)
    7. I came here and asked for advice
    8. Went into domain.com/cpanel and deleted sub1.domain.com as a subdomain
    9. Using WHM, I created sub1.domain.com as a new account with its own IP
    10. Opened ticket at the Planet to change their DNS server to point sub1.domain.com to the new IP
    11. 15 hours later. Typing https://sub1.domain.com still takes me the public_html/index.html

    What am I doing wrong?
     
  12. gtgeorge

    gtgeorge Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The MDC is supposed to work on 1 ip address as I said before. You will need to contact support for the company you purchased the ssl to find the answer for a "how to" on a cpanel server. Commodo specifically advertises "Multi Domain Certificate for multiple domains on one ip"

    The wildcard cert is what most people use when they want to cover sub domains etc. And they work :cool:

    EDIT: Comodo info states that the method the mdc's use are not suitable for an e-commerce setup.
    https://support.comodo.com/index.php?_m=knowledgebase&_a=viewarticle&kbarticleid=640
     
    #12 gtgeorge, Mar 28, 2008
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page