The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain on Freebsd, new bug?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by anest, Oct 9, 2006.

  1. anest

    anest Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Face very strange error and think, that it is new bug of new version, because before on this server it works.

    When create new subdomain, it put to httpd.conf Document path to account`s home, like

    DocumentRoot /usr/home/username

    So, it shown home directory, incl mail, public_html , etc

    Tried:

    upcp --force
    fixsubconf
    updateuserdomains

    anybody can confirm that it is new bug?

    latest release
    freebsd 5.4
     
  2. anest

    anest Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    where? in httpd.conf ? I wrote quota from this file for <VirtualHost> of this subdomain, so it create it, but not correct.
     
  3. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    We run many FreeBSD servers with cPanel, all running the latest release and have no problems with subdomains.

    The domain you're trying, is there a subdomain / wildcard record?
     
  4. JamesSmith

    JamesSmith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK, Luton
    You edited your own post to quote me, so its appeared before I made it :P

    The domain name, has it the appropriate DNS entries to use the subdomain?

    I.e. you're trying to use bob.yourdomain.com as a subdomain, but bob.yourdomain.com will need to point towards your server, either as a wildcard: *.yourdomain.com or the specific A record: bob.yourdomain.com
     
  5. anest

    anest Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    There is no problem with dns
    there is exactly trouble with DocumentRoot in apache
     
  6. sukaslayer

    sukaslayer Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have faced the same problem.

    After adding subdomain from cpanel next entry is creating in httpd.conf:

    <VirtualHost ip.address>
    ServerAlias www.subdomain.domain.com
    ServerAdmin webmaster@subdomain.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/home/username
    BytesLog domlogs/subdomain.domain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName subdomain.domain.com
    User username
    Group username
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/subdomain.domain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /usr/home/username/cgi-bin/
    </VirtualHost>

    So, DocumentRoot is misconfigured, as it should be /usr/home/username/public_html/subdomain instead of /usr/home/username

    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.9.0-R44
    FreeBSD 5.4-RELEASE-p16 i386 - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is due to the following bug Paths are not handled properly when HOMEDIR is a symlink. The BSD platforms commonly make /home a symlink to /usr/home, unlike GNU/Linux which doesn't. Anyway, this bug is being addressed. Once an ETA is known for the fix hitting mainline branches, the bug report will be updated with this information.
     
Loading...

Share This Page