The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subdomain problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sketchified, Mar 6, 2002.

  1. sketchified

    sketchified Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Client's are receiving one of two errors when trying to add a subdomain.

    SubDomain Adder
    Timeout: Alarm at bin/domainadmin.pl line 24.

    OR

    SubDomain Adder
    subdomain.domain.com could not be modified because it does not resolve to a valid ip address. Please ask the system admin to check their resolv.conf and their dns trust relationship Ignore any messages of success this can only result in failure!

    Now, I know the resolv.conf file is correct, so I'm not sure where cpanel gets this from?!?

    I've never seen the first message before, so I've got no clue where that's coming from.

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same here. The domain record gets modified but httpd.conf does not -- I have to add the subdomain manually. Up to today it was working ok.
     
  3. Deep8808

    Deep8808 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I am gettin the same error too.
    Timeout: Alarm at bin/domainadmin.pl line 24.
    This happens whenever we try to add a subdomain.
    Is there any solution/fix to this?
    Please advice.
    Thank You
     
  4. sketchified

    sketchified Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No solution as far as I know but it needs to be fixed yesterday!
     
  5. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:122bc75b16][i:122bc75b16]Originally posted by Deep8808[/i:122bc75b16]

    Hi,
    I am gettin the same error too.
    Timeout: Alarm at bin/domainadmin.pl line 24.
    This happens whenever we try to add a subdomain.
    Is there any solution/fix to this?
    Please advice.
    Thank You
    [/quote:122bc75b16]

    Looks like its timing out adding the dns .. send me the login info for your server (nick@cpanel.net) and I'll see if I can fix your dns for you.
    -Nick
     
  6. Gadget

    Gadget Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    What about those servers that arent running named, why would they have this problem?
     
Loading...

Share This Page