The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain Redirect Entity Bug?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GeeBee, Jun 18, 2007.

  1. GeeBee

    GeeBee Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Firstly, sorry if this is posted elsewhere. I couldn't find anything on searching... so here goes...

    Subdomain redirect has changed with this release. It used to be possible to specify a redirect URL of the form

    http://www.mysite.com/?arg_1=value_1&arg_2=value_2

    Now cPanel 11 "helpfully" converts the ampersand to an entity ... that is it changes ampersand to &_amp_; ... without the underlines, of course ... I put those in otherwise all you'd see here would be an ampersand ;)

    If this is not a bug, I believe it should be (imho).

    The "gotcha" is that existing URLs still work ... but just try editing one and it all falls apart!

    Thought others might like some warning before their redirected users get mysteriously lost.
     
  2. gfisch

    gfisch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal
    I confirm that problem

    I see the same thing in subdomains.

    Also, there is also a cpanel fucntion called Redirect where you can redirect any string to a page
    like myhost.com/archive to myhost.com/index.php?option=com_content&id=5
    These get mangled as well.

    You can go into the .htaccess file where they are put and edit them so they work, but then what's the point of a web GUI?

    This is a new bug.

    Gord
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    This was solved in 14300+
     
  4. GeeBee

    GeeBee Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry, I'm just a simple soul ... does this mean that a cPanel installation that reports cPanel Version 11.4.18-RELEASE is superceded?
     
  5. xprt5

    xprt5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Houston
  6. omnituens

    omnituens Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Bug is in (or re-introduced) cPanel Build 11.10.0-CURRENT 16448. Painful!
     
Loading...

Share This Page