The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain that points to IP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by iidavidii, Jun 27, 2003.

  1. iidavidii

    iidavidii Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello

    I have a little bit of a problem. I created a subdomain and can redirect it to another website/domain. But is there anyway possible for me to create a subdomain and have it redirected to an ip. For instance if someone goes to ip.cpanel.net it redirects them to 13.333.3321

    Thanks for your help in advance

    David

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Steve-PWH

    Steve-PWH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Dont create a subdomain,

    You need to create an 'A' record in the DNS to point to the IP for the subdomain

    If u dont have access to WHM for this you will have to ask ur provider

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. iidavidii

    iidavidii Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i do have access to whm, how would i do this.

    thanks for help in advance

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Steve-PWH

    Steve-PWH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. iidavidii

    iidavidii Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ughhh i think you misread it. I <B> Do </B> have access to whm

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. NetX

    NetX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In your WHM you have to go to "DNS Functions" and there go to "Add a DNS Zone".

    Then you enter the IP and subdomain for add it :)

    Restart bind..

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page