The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomain to other domain sub

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 8p-design, Oct 22, 2008.

  1. 8p-design

    8p-design Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    The only way to do this would be for both domains to be in the same account. However, as both domains presumably have their own SSL certificates (thus need their own dedicated IPs), you cannot place both domains in the same cPanel/WHM account.

    Perhaps someone knows a way to manually configure Apache to handle this for you.
     
  3. 8p-design

    8p-design Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    thanks for your reply.
    Yes both domains have their own certificate & account.
    They need to stay in different accounts.

    If I was to put HTTPS out of the thread for a moment, would I have another solution while keeping those two domains as separate account?

    thanks again!
     
  4. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You can use the Redirect link in the Domains menu to accomplish this. Simply choose the domain and directory you wish to redirect and type in the full URL you wish to redirect to in the redirects to field.

    If you need to get fancy, you may wish to take a look at this primer on using .htaccess redirects:

    http://www.webweaver.nu/html-tips/web-redirection.shtml

    As noted by Dave above, you're going to have issues with doing this over SSL, especially since the browser will throw a warning that the domain they are traveling to doesn't match what they typed in.
     
    #4 DaveUsedToWorkHere, Oct 22, 2008
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page