Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SubDomains & Add-Ons

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vinc_dc43, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. vinc_dc43

    vinc_dc43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Is there anyway to make sure that other than manually editing the httpd.conf file to allow a subdomain to be reached using the following format URL:

    www.sub.domain.com

    or does one always have to add it manually to the httpd.conf? Can this be scripted into the account creation script?

    Also, with add-on domains, is there wanyway they can actually be reached as a standalone domain? as in www.domain.com rather than being a subdomain of the main account...

    Or am I misunderstanding how Add-Ons are supposed to work?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Egypt
    There is no way to make it auto add : www.sub.domain.com currently because sub-domain is sub.domain.com and not www.sub.domain.com. Many people like to stick the www to everything, I am not sure why. (www is a sub-domain by the way)

    They only way to do this is to either:

    edit the httpd.conf yourself and add www.sub.domain.com. A record in the DNS zone of the domain

    OR

    Create the sub-domain from the WHM.

    Do you mean to have it's own home directory ? ex. /home/addonuser

    Add-on domains are domains which share the same cpanel & username.

    In cPanel they point to a directory inside the main domain public_html. but they are reached from www.addon-domain.com/addon-domain.com

    You want you need is:
    Shared Accounts (created from the WHM [Reseller WHM or Root WHM]) each has it's own username. cpanel and home dir.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. vinc_dc43

    vinc_dc43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Thanks Mahmoud -

    I hear what you say about www.subdomains. but clients are clients, and when you have to move an account from one cluster to another its a pain well all these "unknowns" break!

    I will have to check about the addon domains. I just had the impression they werent working the way they should be :

    Thanks again, Vincent -

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Miami
    the only thing I see diff in the conf file is this

    ServerAlias www.my.sub.com my.sub.com

    mm...was wondering why some worked and some didnt LOL

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Egypt
    These might be created from WHM?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Miami
    correct, the subs that do work with the www were made in WHM :cool:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. vinc_dc43

    vinc_dc43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    the simplest way for whm/cpanel to resolve this would be to create an automatic server alias of *.domain.com i think. Alas as yet it cannot.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice