The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SubDomains & Add-Ons

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vinc_dc43, Aug 8, 2003.

  1. vinc_dc43

    vinc_dc43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is there anyway to make sure that other than manually editing the httpd.conf file to allow a subdomain to be reached using the following format URL:

    www.sub.domain.com

    or does one always have to add it manually to the httpd.conf? Can this be scripted into the account creation script?

    Also, with add-on domains, is there wanyway they can actually be reached as a standalone domain? as in www.domain.com rather than being a subdomain of the main account...

    Or am I misunderstanding how Add-Ons are supposed to work?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    There is no way to make it auto add : www.sub.domain.com currently because sub-domain is sub.domain.com and not www.sub.domain.com. Many people like to stick the www to everything, I am not sure why. (www is a sub-domain by the way)

    They only way to do this is to either:

    edit the httpd.conf yourself and add www.sub.domain.com. A record in the DNS zone of the domain

    OR

    Create the sub-domain from the WHM.

    Do you mean to have it's own home directory ? ex. /home/addonuser

    Add-on domains are domains which share the same cpanel & username.

    In cPanel they point to a directory inside the main domain public_html. but they are reached from www.addon-domain.com/addon-domain.com

    You want you need is:
    Shared Accounts (created from the WHM [Reseller WHM or Root WHM]) each has it's own username. cpanel and home dir.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. vinc_dc43

    vinc_dc43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks Mahmoud -

    I hear what you say about www.subdomains. but clients are clients, and when you have to move an account from one cluster to another its a pain well all these "unknowns" break!

    I will have to check about the addon domains. I just had the impression they werent working the way they should be :

    Thanks again, Vincent -

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    the only thing I see diff in the conf file is this

    ServerAlias www.my.sub.com my.sub.com

    mm...was wondering why some worked and some didnt LOL

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    These might be created from WHM?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    correct, the subs that do work with the www were made in WHM :cool:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. vinc_dc43

    vinc_dc43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    the simplest way for whm/cpanel to resolve this would be to create an automatic server alias of *.domain.com i think. Alas as yet it cannot.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page