The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomains ndc: connect failed: connection refused

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by England, Apr 3, 2003.

  1. England

    England Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, everyone of my sites gets this error when trying to add a subdomain

    SubDomain Maintenance
    _
    SubDomain Adder
    ndc: connect failed: connection refused The subdomain, test.domain.com has been added.

    They appear in the Cpanel and in WHM but they dont resolve, and cant connect on the FTP

    Any ideas?
     
  2. England

    England Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    And yes they do have access to add subdomains, ive either allow unlimited or specified a number to test this feature
     
  3. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Spain
  4. England

    England Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, thanks for the reply but im not sure how it helps me, im what you might say.. a moron :(
     
  5. dorijan

    dorijan Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    if you want to fix that error pretty quick use this

    Log into the server as root via SSH and type the following:


    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/fixndc
    /scripts/fixndc


    (yes, twice)
    --
    Eric Gregory
    cPanel Support Staff
    Berwick, PA Office
    570-752-4272
    cPanel, Inc.
     
  6. England

    England Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. JiNkYs

    JiNkYs Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  8. England

    England Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    dorijan
    Junior Member
    Registered: Mar 2003
    Location:
    Posts: 13

    if you want to fix that error pretty quick use this
    Log into the server as root via SSH and type the following:
    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/fixndc

    --------------------------------------

    Worked for me :D
     
  9. JiNkYs

    JiNkYs Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    root@hosting [~]# /scripts/updatenow
    receiving file list ... done
    wrote 86 bytes read 5956 bytes 4028.00 bytes/sec
    total size is 2609117 speedup is 431.83
    root@hosting [~]# /scripts/fixndc
    Found key in named.conf ..
    Found controls in named.conf ..
    named.conf has already been fixed!
    root@hosting [~]#

    But the problem is still there. Do i need to restart anything?
     
  10. JiNkYs

    JiNkYs Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  11. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The error at http://teste.virushelp.org tells me you have a problem with Apache - httpd.conf file. I would run this:

    # /usr/local/apache/bin/httpd -t

    and correct any errors shown. Also check the settings (in httpd.conf) for proper setup of the Sub-domain(s) in question.

    After that, I would make sure the Nameservers are correctly setup ( http://dnsreport.com/ is a good place to use for this ) and if everything is OK, restart Apache -- wait a minute -- then restart Bind. Both of these can be restarted from within WHM.
     
  12. Guda

    Guda Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Running those scripts only works if the machine you are on is making a connection to your primary nameserver..... so what if i dont want to make a connection to my primary nameserver...

    I had always thought that if MASTER was set in wwwacct.conf then when subs were created it would attempt to connect to the defined MASTER, however if it is not defined then no connection attempt would be made...

    I dont run a nameserver on this box, and MASTER is not defined,.... why is ndc still trying to connect?

    I mean the only good thing those scripts do is reconfigure the ndc key so it corresponds with named.conf, which should only be needed if your running a nameserver...

    Furthermore attempting to make an ndc connection is pretty lame in the firstplace... (at least when adding a subdomain) I mean isnt that what wildcard entry's are for?

    * IN CNAME cpanel.net.

    ?????



    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #12 Guda, Sep 12, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page