The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

subdomains - not resolving

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nsdesign, Jun 20, 2003.

  1. nsdesign

    nsdesign Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Subdomains used to resolve instantly once added via cpanel...

    Now when I add subdomains, they don't resolve at all...
    Is there any known problem - or is there just a new very long propegation time...

    Any ideaS?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is the Domain name that needs to resolve/propagate, not the Sub-domain. If the Domain has propagated and Sub-domains do not instantly resolve, then there is a problem somewhere.

    Would need more detailed info, to give a better answer.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. nsdesign

    nsdesign Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The domain(s) are fine (all been "alive" for months/years)....
    As I said - used to work fine - but now there's problems somewhere....

    Any hints at where to start looking?

    Thanks

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. nsdesign

    nsdesign Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    OK - fixed this one :)
    ....

    Everyone should be aware of this - potential bug that affects everybody...

    It turns out that a reseller of ours had setup a new domain in whm (either that or simply added 2 extra dns zone files). This domain was in the format ns1.resellerdomain.com and ns2.resellerdomain.com

    Basically - and not too sure why.... This broke ALL domains added after it. NONE would resolve (including sub domains etc)...

    Strange - and I'd love to hear the proper technical reason why, but I'm amazed that they could be allowed to do this in the firstplace given the results!!!!

    So - Watch out for it!!!!!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This doesn't sound like a 'bug' to me. More along the lines of what 'you' allow your Reseller access to.

    Reseller Center > Edit Reseller Privileges/Nameservers

    Please select which features 'ResellerID' should have access to:

    Edit DNS Entries << do not put a checkmark

    This will prevent the Reseller from editing DNS entries and prevent the problem you described above.

    It also sounds like this particular Reseller wanted to have NSs using 'their' Domain name. A common expectation nowdays and a setup that many people provide for their Reseller accounts.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. nsdesign

    nsdesign Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    All our resellers DO get personal dns (ns1 and ns2.theirname.com) - this was caused (as fas as I can see) by them then setting up a new account using the full ns1.theirdomain.com as the domain....

    So - Disabling "edit DNS" would have made no difference - since the dns zone would have been created all the same...

    As said - I'm not sure why this caused the problem for all domains and subdomains created after the resller had did this.... answers on a postcard to....
    ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page