The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomains vs Sub directories

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by sqwale, Feb 15, 2012.

1. sqwale

sqwale Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm a newbie with the whole internet however I have a background in programming. I have written a web application but I would like to add a feature that allows registered users to have some form of a sub-domain. I have come across some forums that enable you to create a sub-domain with PHP and CPannals API's like;
    username.mywebsite.com.
    So when my user signs up they get this sub-domain.

However I would rather it would mimic facebook. So when a user joins they get something like mywebsite.com/username. I know at first it seems as simple as just adding a directory. But I suspect there is a more formal and neat way of doing this without riddling my publi_html folder with hundreds if not thousands of username subdirectories.

2. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since a subdomain would also be accessible using maindomain.com/subdomainfolder, then I'm uncertain why you wouldn't go ahead and let the subdomain be created. This would allow people to access using both the subdomain and maindomain.com/subdomainfolder which could be the same as the username. Providing people with two ways to access the same content isn't a bad option at all. You don't have to provide the subdomain to the users if you don't want to and the maindomain.com/subdomainfolder would be a valid path to mention in any account generation email you mail out to those users.