The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Subdomains

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Thugmasta218, Apr 2, 2006.

  1. Thugmasta218

    Thugmasta218 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Subdomain Help

    Is it possible (or maybe it is already set) to disallow other resellers from creating a subdomain on a domain that they do not own? It can be quite dangerous if a reseller creates a subdomain called secure.someonesdomain.com.
     
    #1 Thugmasta218, Apr 2, 2006
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2006
  2. Thugmasta218

    Thugmasta218 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    anyone know??
     
  3. Thugmasta218

    Thugmasta218 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    still nothing =S..
     
  4. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well if that domain is under that reseller then you CAN NOT STOP him creating subdomains. As reseller can login into cPanel of every domain under it using the reseller password.
     
  5. Thugmasta218

    Thugmasta218 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i know that.. Im asking if it is possible for a reseller to use my domain and make subdomains.. This is the case because one of my resellers actually made a subdomain from my domain (which i have on another reseller account). (it wasnt bad, but i was wondering if i could prevent that)
     
  6. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Well that should not happen as one reseller cannot have access to create a subdomain on a domain which is under some other reseller.
    And if this is happening some thing is wrong on the server. May be the owners of the domain is conflicted.
     
  7. Thugmasta218

    Thugmasta218 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well, if i go to edit DNS zones in my reseller WHM, it only shows the domains under my account. However, i can still create accounts with their 'domain' as a subdomain of another domain hosted on the server.. FOr example

    i own the domain blah.com

    another reseller on the server has the domain broken.com

    I can create an account called newaccount.broken.com from my reseller even though i do not own the domain broken.com =S
     
Loading...

Share This Page