The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sudden CPU increase on Php processes.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AdamDresch, Apr 19, 2013.

  1. AdamDresch

    AdamDresch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi all

    I got an email alert earlier about high cpu usage, but figured it was the backups running, but I've had a few more since, so decided to check top, the cpu usage for each php thread, is extremely high, but I don't know why


    23068 x 20 0 438m 73m 39m R 85.4 1.8 0:48.82 php
    22446 x 20 0 420m 65m 49m S 52.5 1.6 1:20.16 php
    23055 x 20 0 419m 54m 39m R 51.8 1.4 1:04.62 php
    23670 x 20 0 440m 74m 38m R 45.2 1.9 0:27.18 php
    23667 x 20 0 440m 72m 36m R 31.9 1.8 0:27.57 php
    23658 x 20 0 436m 70m 39m S 14.6 1.8 0:32.80 php
    9852 mysql 15 -5 4378m 521m 5080 S 6.3 13.0 361:28.55 mysqld
    21871 x 20 0 514m 88m 70m S 6.0 2.2 0:05.33 php
    20706 x 20 0 507m 30m 19m S 1.7 0.8 0:08.85 php

    It seems to be the same account/user which is resulting in high cpu usage, but it's a barely active forum, with few guests/members on it, so I'm confused as to why all of a sudden it's got such high cpu usage for each thread/process

    Apache 2.2.24 is running as FastCGI, is running php 5.3.24, which was updated a few days ago from the previous version of 5.3.23

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Check the access logs for that domain. Could be related to hits from a particular ip. Block it if required. You may need to scan the account for suspicious scripts as well.

    /home/username/access_log/domainame.com

    Above is the location to access logs for the particular domain.

    Cheers!!!
     
  3. AdamDresch

    AdamDresch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yea I can't see anything out of the ordinary, really confused, CPU load is high again today
    Same process/issue, yet nothing out of the ordinary, as far as bandwith use or logs go.
     
  4. arunsv84

    arunsv84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you sure the php processes are not consuming resources? Have you checked the Apache status page from WHM? It will give you better idea.

    If everything is normal, you should consider checking iowait and hard disk health status. If you see high iowait there is a big problem on your server that can lead to data loss as well. You should check for errors at /var/log/messages, dmesg, boot.log and any other system log files. Look for disk I/O errors, failed read/write operations, bad sectors, memory errors and kernel panics. The three most likely culprits of high iowait are bad disk, faulty memory and network problems.

    Hope this helps.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page