The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SuExec Logfile Location

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MattDr2, Dec 27, 2003.

  1. MattDr2

    MattDr2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Is there an easy method to relocate this logfile?

    When upgrading servers to Redhat 9, the logs folder must first be moved. This causes anything SuExec to error out since it must log to the suexec_log file according to the Apache configuration. The other log file paths can be changed in the httpd.conf, but not this one.

    Is there a simple way to relocate this logfile? I have tried recompiling apache with the needed changes, but the SuExec environment doesn't like me trying to tamper with it too much.

    Regards,
    Matt
     
  2. MattDr2

    MattDr2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    Figured it out. =D

    If anyone needs help with this, let me know via PM. It's a somewhat complicated modification...

    Regards,
    Matt
     
  3. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Great! Why don't you post the solution?

    These forums work a lot better when solutions are posted for all to see.
     
  4. MattDr2

    MattDr2 Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Norman, OK
    1. Run buildapache and just use your current settings. This gets all the needed information into /home/cpapachebuild to prepare for the updates later.

    2. Edit /home/cpapachebuild/buildscript adjusting any configure statements as needed according to the path the upgrade would take using the config (roughly) you'd be running from the easyapache.

    3. chattr +i /home/cpapachebuild/buildscript

    4. /home/cpapachebuild/bs

    Regards,
    Matt
     
  5. SarcNBit

    SarcNBit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,010
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I do not need this information at the momemt, but thank you in advance for whenever I do :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page