The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suexec not working?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Joseph, Feb 22, 2008.

  1. Joseph

    Joseph Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    We have our server configured to use the suexec module for apache, and php is configured to use phpsuexec itself.

    However, when taking a look at the processes running on the server, there are 30-40 processes running at any given time that are running httpd as nobody....

    Anyone have any idea why this is, or how to track what's spawning them?

    ~ Joseph
     
  2. darren.nolan

    darren.nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/suexec.html

    Httpd would normally continue running as nobody.
     
  3. Joseph

    Joseph Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    So to clarify, non-dynamic content then, would still be showing up as the user nobody, right?

    Thanks,

    Joseph
     
  4. darren.nolan

    darren.nolan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, everything to apache is "static".

    It's the programs/applications that apache start (perl/php/etc.) that would run as the user - rather than nobody.

    So a site running Joomla for example, the httpd process would still report nobody - while the process that was used to create the page (php) - should run as the user.

    That was just an example, I don't believe SuExec makes php run as the user. That's what suPHP is for.
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    YOu will need to change the PHP Handler to either suPHP or CGI for the benefits of suExec to happen.
     
Loading...

Share This Page