The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suexec

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AlaskanWolf, Jan 21, 2002.

  1. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Ok, i reinstalled buildapache and activated initsuexec

    but when apache runs, its still running as nobody, i thought the idea of suexec was to show you who was running what, how do i make it so on top, httpd is shown as the users name and not nobody?
     
  2. pfmartin

    pfmartin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    That\'s not what suexec does. httpd will always run as nobody. Only cgi scripts are executed as the user.
     
  3. AlaskanWolf

    AlaskanWolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2001
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    yup, i read up on suexec after posting hehe

    now, alot of my users are getting

    [Tue Jan 22 14:59:38 2002] [error] [client xxx.xxx.xxx] Premature end of script headers: /home/yourroot/public_html/cgi-bin/script.cgi

    anyone got suggestions on what the majority of problems is causing thiis??


    when i do a perl script.cgi in ssh, it spits out, but in httpd, they get a internal 500 error
     
  4. shaun

    shaun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    San Clemente, Ca
    well i\'m not sure about cpanel but i know on our Plesk servers (Blahck....) it uses suexec and when you get cgi internal error\'s it\'s because the script has permissions that suexec doesnt like. For instance a cgi script with the permissions 777 will not run usually because everybody has rwx.

    Most likly it\'s a permission problem.
     
Loading...

Share This Page