The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Super new guy question can you handle it? :D

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lexmark, Jan 9, 2005.

  1. lexmark

    lexmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was wondering if anyone would be so kind enough to explain exactly step by step, how to setup a Cpanel server. I havent found any docs here that explain "step by step" meaning when you first go into Cpanel WHM it has a popup where you have to enter information about the domain, nameservers, hostname, etc. Could anyone please be so kind to tell me exactly what to do step by step, that will make the world a better place :D Thanks!
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. lexmark

    lexmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks a lot :D
     
  4. lexmark

    lexmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That guide was very helpful, but I am stuck on one part. In Cpanel WHM it says the following message:

    Security Warning, your resolver configuration contains 127.x.x.x (localhost). For security reasons, we recommend that you use a non-local dns resolver. Click here to change your configuration.

    How do I find out what my correct dns resolver is?
     
  5. jester.ro

    jester.ro Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bucharest, Romania
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    127.0.0.1 is ok as a resolver, but seems to be a security threat.


    you could add to /etc/resolv.conf the primary IP of the server, or ask the datacenter to give you their resolvers, and add them in /etc/resolv.conf
     

Share This Page