The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suPHP and Zend Optimizer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Solokron, Feb 25, 2009.

  1. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I am having an unusual problem with Zend Optimizer and PHP. Latest stable build of cPanel and CentOS 5.2 64-Bit.

    Main >> Service Configuration >> Apache Configuration
    Configure Suexec and PHP

    Once I change the PHP5 Handler from DSO to suPHP Zend Optimizer is no longer functional and not listed in a phpinfo. When I move it back to DSO it re-appears.

    I need to get it working with suPHP of course.
     
  2. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Any ideas?

    I have tried using a manual install with the zend optimizer with no luck.
     
  3. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I don't know much about Zend optimizer, but I know that things like eaccelerator will not work with suphp. Are you sure that Zend optimizer will?
     
  4. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, that is correct. eacelerator will not work with suPHP. Zend Optimzer on the other hand will absolutely work with it.

     
  5. zigzam

    zigzam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Do you have a custom php.ini file under the account you are checking?
     
  6. Solokron

    Solokron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    No, this is server wide.

     
  7. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Good to know :)
     
  8. Michael-MS

    Michael-MS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Having the same problem as original poster. Zend Opt works with CGI but not with suPHP.. swapping between the two in WHM enables/disables Zend Opt server-wide.
     
  9. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What is your PHP version?

    Code:
    php -v
    Please post the entire content of the return for that command and do this when you have suPHP enabled with Zend Optimizer enabled. You can also just install Zend Optimizer using this script:

    Code:
    /scripts/phpextensionmgr install ZendOpt
    The uninstall command would be:

    Code:
    /scripts/phpextensionmgr uninstall ZendOpt
     
  10. Michael-MS

    Michael-MS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    php -v
    PHP 5.2.17 (cli) (built: Mar 14 2011 15:09:52)
    Copyright (c) 1997-2010 The PHP Group
    Zend Engine v2.2.0, Copyright (c) 1998-2010 Zend Technologies
    with Zend Optimizer v3.3.9, Copyright (c) 1998-2009, by Zend Technologies

    PHPINFO() does not return the same info. It is showing no Zend Optimizer. If I change from suPHP module to CGI then it works.

    P.S. Just ran /scripts/phpextensionmgr install ZendOpt and it didn't change anything.
     
  11. Michael-MS

    Michael-MS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel support helped me fix it. (thanks Nick!)

    I had some bad local php.ini settings in the folder I was testing. Copied over the php.ini file fresh and suPHP loaded up Zend Opt perfectly. Sorry guys, noob mistake on my part.
     
Loading...

Share This Page