The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suPHP / phpsuexec

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jonne, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. jonne

    jonne Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello!

    I am courious about installing either suPHP and/or phpsuexec. Though since we use WHM I am also wondering how to do this the "proper" way.

    I checked the addon packages etc for these but couldn't find them. Sometimes I know that things work best if you do them the "WHM compilant way" (tm) ;) As of I wouldn't have a problem installing either of them on a system not managed by WHM it is more of a question how WHM will interact with this and how to avoid it to overwrite custom configuration etc.

    So, advice on how to do this properly would be appreciated.

    To clarify we have sections in httpd.conf stating:

    <VirtualHost x.x.x.x>
    ..... etc ....
    User username
    Group usergroup
    ..... etc ......
    </VirtualHost>

    and I would like php scripts to by default run as <username>

    Greets,
    Mikael, Xlate Systems AB
     
    #1 jonne, Jun 2, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2005
  2. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can enable phpsuexec by recompiling apache using either buildapache or easyapache. That will enable it the cpanel way.
     
  3. jonne

    jonne Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks!

    Just a side question; will this achieve what we are trying to do? i.e. run all php scripts under certain domains as that user (not through CGI interface etc).

    Greets,
    Mikael, Xlate Systems AB
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  5. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes it will run all php as the user.
     
  6. ZapX.net

    ZapX.net Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Sidman, PA
    hi,

    Sorry to bump this thread but didn't think I should start my own, as this is not too old.

    Isn't phpsuexec now no longer developed? So if I would enable phpsuexec, well, would cpanel ever take it out of the options in updating apache, in the future? That's one thing I'm concerned about.
     
  7. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    The best option, since you prefer administering your server via the WHM, is to enable phpsuexec by recompiling apache. You'll need make sure that Phpsuexec is checked every time you recompile Apache. In addition, make sure that Php scripts are chmod 755, otherwise they won't work.
     
    #7 AndyReed, Jun 27, 2005
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2005
  8. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I recall in a previous thread that cPanel said that they would continue to support phpsuexec themselves. Since the project disappeared some time ago and it's still functioning just fine in apache 1.3.33 I wouldn't lose too much sleep over it. Disabling phpsuexec is a simple and painless process if need be.
     
  9. rs-freddo

    rs-freddo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    832
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's been quite some time since php scripts needed to be chmodded 755 - just upload them and they work fine (on default 644 setting).
     
Loading...

Share This Page