The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suPHP requires PHP w/ CGI or PHP as CGI?

Discussion in 'Workarounds and Optimization' started by fkatzenb, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. fkatzenb

    fkatzenb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lusby, Maryland, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have been told to increase server performance, that I need to run PHP as an apache module, not CGI. However when moving thru the EasyApache steps, it appears that suPHP requires PHP as CGI? I cannot find a straight answer on this.

    I want to leave suPHP checked but want to uncheck the CGI box under PHP.

    Thanks,
    Frank
     
  2. fkatzenb

    fkatzenb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lusby, Maryland, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    NVM. I did find the answer: suPHP - FAQ
     
  3. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    The CGI option for PHP is required in order to use SuPHP. Switching the PHP handler to Apache DSO (mod_php) may help with performance but at the risk of decreased security. It is not required to disable the CGI option simply to use Apache DSO (mod_php) as the handler. It is possible to have support compiled-in for multiple PHP request handlers allowing to change them later without re-running EasyApache.

    Related menu path in WHM:
    WHM: Main >> Service Configuration >> Apache Configuration >> PHP and SuExec Configuration
    Documentation: Configure PHP and suEXEC

    For additional verbose details and information please refer to the following documentation:
    Apache PHP Request Handling
    Configuring PHP and suEXEC from the Command Line
     
  4. cPanelDon

    cPanelDon cPanel Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,557
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Twitter:
    Friendly Moderator Note

    I have moved this thread into the Optimization forums area so that it receives more relevant attention and discussion.
     
  5. fkatzenb

    fkatzenb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lusby, Maryland, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the support. I think I will just stick with the way things are now. I am not having performance issues but just wanted to optimize the most I could now instead of later.

    Plus I need to learn more about a lot of this first.

    Thanks,
    Frank
     
  6. DjiXas

    DjiXas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Don't use CGI, compile with fCGI.
     
Loading...

Share This Page