Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

suPHP vs CGI with PHP-FPM

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by filip212, Aug 27, 2017.

  1. filip212

    filip212 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Which choose is better? CGI handler with PHP-FPM or suPHP handler ?
    CGI handler with PHP-FPM too runs processes as user with his rights or no? What safety? Which one is safier? Which one is faster? Is here any better solutions with best aggregacy performance/security?
     
  2. Anoop P Alias

    Anoop P Alias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kochi,Kerala,India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    PHP-FPM is the best solution. It runs as user, support opcode caches like opcache , is ultra fast ( faster than lsphp in my personal tests)

    php-fpm is officially in the php core. Used my most high-end PHP based websites
     
    Rodrigo Gomes and Sametto Chan like this.
  3. Sametto Chan

    Sametto Chan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2016
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    93
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I agreed that.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. filip212

    filip212 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok if i choose cgi handler with PHP-FPM im using this fastest solution right? Because now im using suPHP
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Performance can vary and it often depends on the type of websites you are using and the amount of requests you are serving. Note that CGI and PHP-FPM are two separate handlers.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Anoop P Alias

    Anoop P Alias Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Kochi,Kerala,India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    php-fpm is a separate application server processing PHP requests.The web server communicates to it using FastCGI protocol over a socket . You only need to proxy the requests to the php-fpm service socket from Apache httpd using mod_proxy_fcgi. SuPHP is technically the CGI sapi with additional security

    So CGI and SuPHP -- are same with SuPHP having additional security - opcode caches won't work - everything is slow! == BAD
    mod_php - fast as apache is embedding the php intrepreter and managing the process- less secure , no user switching unless you use ruid2 == BAD
    php-fpm - Blazing fast and support opcode cache ..user level switching is support in fpm configuration, chrooting is supported , stats , log slow query etc is supported == GOOD
    lsphp - Almost all features of php-fpm ,but is proprietary and works only with CloudLinux or LiteSpeed == GOOD
     
    cPanelMichael likes this.
  8. filip212

    filip212 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you but in multiphp manager i can choose only CGI or suPHP (suPHP i must too installl)
    And when i have choosed CGI handler i can set PHP-FPM
    System PHP-FPM
    Turn on/off PHP-FPM for all accounts.

    Is this right or i need manually install PHP-FPM handler?
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To use PHP-FPM on accounts using PHP 5.6, 7.0, or 7.1, you must install PHP-FPM for those PHP versions. To do so, perform the following steps below:

    1. Open "WHM >> Software >> EasyApache 4".
    2. Install the PHP-FPM package for each version of PHP you want to use it with in your EA4 profile and then provision the profile. EX:

    ea-php56-php-fpm
    ea-php70-php-fpm
    ea-php71-php-fpm

    3. Browse to "WHM >> MultiPHP Manager" and enable PHP-FPM for individual domain names, or enable "System PHP-FPM" to enable it for all accounts assigned your system's default PHP version (as configured in the option above it).

    Thank you.
     
  10. filip212

    filip212 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Slovakia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes this i already have but from handlers i can choose CGI or suPHP(suPHP i manually installed) this is no problem yes? Thank you
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,165
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that's normal. PHP-FPM won't appear in the drop-down box of handlers. Instead, you'd have to enable it for each domain name via "WHM >> MultiPHP Manager" or convert all accounts to it with the "System PHP-FPM" feature.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page