The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Suspended Page Only Seen with IP Number

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by salvatore333, Oct 2, 2009.

  1. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When I suspend an account and you try and access the domain name that was suspended you get redirected to here:
    http://ns1.**************.com/suspended.page/

    In firefox it says "server not found", however when I replace "ns1.**************.com" with the servers main IP number I can see the suspended page I setup in the web host manager fine.

    Can someone please help with this issue?


    Thanks very much
     
  2. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Under Basic cPanel/WHM Setup and Hostname, yes it is.

    Thank you for replying.
     
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is ns1.**************.com your server's hostname?
     
  4. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What do you see when you go to http://ns1.*.com in your web browser?

    Also, does the nameserver ns1.*.com resolve to the main IP address of your server? You may want to use an external tool like intodns.com to verify this.
     
  5. salvatore333

    salvatore333 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What do you see when you go to http://ns1.*.com in your web browser?
    I get the same server not found error.

    The link you sent does not check subdomains. I used DNS Tools - ping, traceroute, reverse dns and the hostname does resolve to the servers main IP number.

    Maybe some type of httpd.conf issue? I don't know.



    Thank you again.
     
  6. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Noted.

    Use the IntoDNS (or similar) tool on *.com (not ns1.*.com) to ensure the nameservers are functioning properly.

    Usually for httpd.conf misconfigurations, you will see a Great Success page, not a "server not found" DNS error from your browser.
     
Loading...

Share This Page