The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Suspended pages...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by powerhouse, Jan 8, 2003.

  1. powerhouse

    powerhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ok
    Ok, I used the WHM to &modify& the &account suspended page&.

    Then I saved it.

    It said successfully saved.

    So, I went and manually(WHM) suspended a site of mine that I'm not finished with yet, and gave a reason.

    Then I went to it, and all I seen was my suspended page I created, I did not see the reason I gave it.

    So, I have a few questions...

    1) Can I put a index.cgi script in the htdocs where the index.html suspended file is?

    2) How do I get it to show the reason?

    3) When I have my billing software automatically suspend a page for billing issues, using the accounting module, can I give it a reason in there to show up(#2 above)?

    Thank you for your help,
    Richard.
     
  2. powerhouse

    powerhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ok
    So then why even have a place for a reason?

    I don't care if it shows to the whole world.
    I am not going to put anything that would break their privacy act rights.

    I would just put the general reason... Such as we have an urgent issue, and we have not been able to reach you, this is a last resort, or we have had an accounting problem, we know this will be resolved, but your contact information was not updated, so we need you to contact us A.S.A.P. etc..

    But if there is no display of the reason, why would the WHM even ask for one?

    Where would it put that reason?
    Does it email it to the user's contact address?

    Thanks,
    Richard.
     
  3. ozzi4648

    ozzi4648 Guest

    [quote:df37a32c42][i:df37a32c42]Originally posted by powerhouse[/i:df37a32c42]

    So then why even have a place for a reason?

    I don't care if it shows to the whole world.
    I am not going to put anything that would break their privacy act rights.

    I would just put the general reason... Such as we have an urgent issue, and we have not been able to reach you, this is a last resort, or we have had an accounting problem, we know this will be resolved, but your contact information was not updated, so we need you to contact us A.S.A.P. etc..

    But if there is no display of the reason, why would the WHM even ask for one?

    Where would it put that reason?
    Does it email it to the user's contact address?

    Thanks,
    Richard.
    [/quote:df37a32c42]

    How on earth did you even get this to work? I suspended my reseller and all her sites. All i got was the normal login box and the user could not log in. Nothing was shown, just the login box at port 2082 showing over and over. It seems to be broken. No suspended page or anything. Probably doesnt work on reseller accounts, i dont know.
     
  4. jsteel

    jsteel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    [quote:ca7f648819][i:ca7f648819]Originally posted by ozzi4648[/i:ca7f648819]

    [quote:ca7f648819][i:ca7f648819]Originally posted by powerhouse[/i:ca7f648819]

    So then why even have a place for a reason?

    I don't care if it shows to the whole world.
    I am not going to put anything that would break their privacy act rights.

    I would just put the general reason... Such as we have an urgent issue, and we have not been able to reach you, this is a last resort, or we have had an accounting problem, we know this will be resolved, but your contact information was not updated, so we need you to contact us A.S.A.P. etc..

    But if there is no display of the reason, why would the WHM even ask for one?

    Where would it put that reason?
    Does it email it to the user's contact address?

    Thanks,
    Richard.
    [/quote:ca7f648819]

    How on earth did you even get this to work? I suspended my reseller and all her sites. All i got was the normal login box and the user could not log in. Nothing was shown, just the login box at port 2082 showing over and over. It seems to be broken. No suspended page or anything. Probably doesnt work on reseller accounts, i dont know.[/quote:ca7f648819]

    powerhouse is talking about their website, not CPanel.
     
  5. powerhouse

    powerhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ok
    Yeah, cPanel appears to just not allow access. If you notice when you suspend a page, the OUTPUT says something about the password, so my guess is, it's just changing it, or just erasing it, or something.
    Then when you un-suspend it, then it puts it back.

    I am going to make a feature request that it allows them to login to cpanel, but if it's susended, THEN It will show WHY.

    And not allow them access to ANYTHING else while suspended. Just the message. I know it would take a dynamic skin, ours is dynamic, but I would not just leave it at that, I would make an option that when you suspend it, you can either have it leave the password and show that message only, OR you can have it act like it does now, and remove the password or what ever it does.

    It would be really easy to make a skin that supports that.

    Richard.
     
  6. powerhouse

    powerhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ok
    Feature Request submitted, what do you think?

    I submitted a feature request for these things below. Tell me what you think, would you guys/gals like to see this possible?

    If you have any pros/cons let me know please.

    Thanks,
    Richard.


    [quote:1e6c5d0d7f]Whenever we suspend accounts in the WHM, you allow us to put a reason...

    I submit that you allow us to also tell it to LEAVE the password, and when they login, have a dynamic skin check if the account is suspended, IF it is, then ONLY allow them to see the REASON why it is suspended.

    If they don't want to do that, then a checkbox in the suspendacct page in WHM telling it to remove the password or whatever it currently does, should then just make it act like it does now, and change the password.

    I think another checkbox should be given, which is &show message to world& in which case if it is checked, then in the suspended.page/index.html file, we could put a cpanelif tag, to where if it is true, then it would print the message, otherwise it would not.

    That would be useful if we suspend a page for SPAM, and need to investigate.
    We could then put a message of something like this:

    &This site has been temporarily suspended for sending Spam. We are investigating and will take further action upon completion of our investigation.&

    You could even have it to where even if they tell it to NOT change the password, it will IF they do NOT put a message. Otherwise it would allow them to login, but they would see a blank page where the message should be.

    Something like that.

    I know it would require a few new cpanelif tags and variables to store the message and such, but it would be another great addition.

    I would also like to see the accounting.pm module updated for the suspensions.

    I am building a Billing System with PayPal's IPN, and when PayPal cancel's a subscription, I would like to be able to pass a reason when the software uses the accounting.pm module to suspend the page. So if you do add the features above, can you then also update the accounting.pm module to be able to support all of the changes? I for one would reallllly appreciate it!

    Just my thoughts.
    [/quote:1e6c5d0d7f]
     
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I must admit, from looking at the post counts of the people saying they are having problems, I am surprized it is not obvious what is going on?

    The Suspend Page is generic and is used for every single suspended account, ergo: it must be a generic msg. as to the reason &why& of the suspension.

    The &reason& box (or input field) for the suspension is strictly for internal use -- a reminder of why it was suspended in the first place. Throw in a date as well, to make it really helpful. ;)
     
  8. powerhouse

    powerhouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Ok
    Where is the reason EVER Displayed?

    I have not seen it, of course I have not looked for it either.

    Richard.
     
Loading...

Share This Page