The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

swap gone crazy on current and edge versions

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mher, Aug 21, 2005.

  1. mher

    mher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    I have updated my cpanel to the Current version cPanel 10.6.0-C15, the problem is that swap usage is increasing steadily on the server. On my other servers swap usage is 0.9%. on this server it's 7.26% and increasing. server load and memory usage is normal.

    I tried downgrading cpanel back to stable. when doing that swap is back to normal 0.9%. but now i get http.conf fatal error mentioned here http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=41205&highlight=fatal

    I am trapped now.
    Any help is welcomed. Thanks.
     
    #1 mher, Aug 21, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2005
  2. neutro

    neutro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It happened to me (2 boxes) swapping reached all time high.. the boxes have been up for 71 days.. I rebooted both and now everything is back to normal even cpbackup finished faster today. Cpanel loads faster now.
     
  3. snet

    snet Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, this happened to all of my boxes on the latest release. The swap usage went up to 27% even though the RAM usage was only at 45%! Downgrading to stable fixed this problem.
     
  4. customtacos

    customtacos Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm running WHM 10.6.0 RELEASE 16 and my swap tends to do this, too. It's up to 25% now. Should I be concerned?
     
  5. carteluo

    carteluo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Porlamar
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Same here... any help?
     
  6. @home

    @home Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I got the same problem on two servers.

    WHM 10.6.0 cPanel 10.6.0-R55
    RedHat Enterprise 3

    Any news one this????

    EDIT : This is happening on release, current and edge.
    A quick solution would be welcome.
     
    #6 @home, Aug 31, 2005
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2005
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Impossible to say, really. You need to login to shell and use the usual tools to track down what is consuming memory and better tune the server.
     
  8. Curious Too

    Curious Too Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The swap issue is related to some recent change in cPanel. How do we "fine tune" for that?
     
  9. linux-image

    linux-image Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    for any issue the cause has to be identified to trigger the cure. As Chirpy has said, u will need to check exactly what is happening and then apply the respective solution.
     
  10. snet

    snet Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    There is definitely something wrong with the new version of cPanel... all of my servers that were running it were having this problem. The swap usage would go up to 100% and the memory usage would stay at 30% - I downgraded them all and the swap usage instantly went down to 0.1%. :rolleyes:

    Does anyone have a fix for this?
     
  11. BenThomas

    BenThomas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Texas USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is absolutely no reason that I can imagine that swap utilization would increase as much as stated here, while free memory exists on the system.

    Obviously, we're not experiencing this problem on our test and production servers or this kind of problem wouldn't make it this far in the builds. We will definately need some more information on this issue before anything can be done about it. Has anyone opened a ticket yet? Considering that this thread was started days ago, you'd think someone would have already opened one. This is what our "hack it till you break it" server reports:

    root@xxxxx [~]# free -m
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 501 484 17 0 80 188
    -/+ buffers/cache: 215 286
    Swap: 1019 128 891
    root@xxxxx [~]# /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel -V
    10.6.0-EDGE_128
    root@xxxxx [~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
    Red Hat Linux release 9 (Shrike)
    root@xxxxx [~]# uname -a
    Linux xxxxx.cpanel.net 2.4.20-42.9.legacy #1 Sun Feb 20 14:31:58 EST 2005 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux


    Nothing unusual there.
     
  12. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I see many servers daily and haven't seen one that has had a swap problem either. As ben says, if you have reason to believe it is cPanel, then you should be logging it. Otherwise, it is normal server admin to determine the cause of excessive page swapping (you should not be relying on the simplistic WHM reports) and as I said, if you don't know how to do that, you'll either have to learn or hire a server admin to look at your server configuration for you. They can then tell you where the problem lies and if the major issue is indeed the cPanel binaries, but I don't see it myself. IF you want to learn, a good place to start is http://www.tldp.org
     
  13. cPanelBilly

    cPanelBilly Guest

    Here is another server I have accounts on for testing, cant replicate the issue here either

    Code:
    root@houston0 [~]# free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:           503        454         49          0         12        186
    -/+ buffers/cache:        255        248
    Swap:         1023          0       1023
    root@houston0 [~]# /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel -V
    10.6.0-EDGE_131
    root@houston0 [~]# cat /etc/redhat-release
    CentOS release 4.1 (Final)
    root@houston0 [~]# uname -a
    Linux houston0.xxxxxxxx 2.6.9-11.EL #1 Wed Jun 8 16:59:52 CDT 2005 i686 athlon i386 GNU/Linux
     
  14. Coight

    Coight Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Also having this problem, also getting a "cpanel" process hanging was using 100% of the cpu on 5 processes this morning. Latest current here
     
  15. snet

    snet Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    I have just submitted a ticket.
     
Loading...

Share This Page