Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switch to apache2

Discussion in 'EasyApache' started by tap, Jun 11, 2005.

  1. tap

    tap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello! I want to user apache 2. I point my browser to Update Apache in Cpanel and select Apache 2 Support (Experimental & Very Broken, Not for Production Use)
    apache&modules&php compliled successfully and I get a message that Buit complete&httpd started ok.

    But in server signuture and from the logs of the download-managers, www browser, firewall I see Server: Apache/1.3.33 (Unix) mod_gzip/1.3.26.1a mod_auth_passthrough/1.8 mod_log_bytes/1.2 mod_bwlimited/1.4 PHP/4.3.11 FrontPage/5.0.2.2635 mod_ssl/2.8.22 OpenSSL/0.9.7a


    Whereis my apache 2? How can I install it?
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    193
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    CPanel/WHM doesn't support Apach 2.x
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,472
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    I guess that's where the "(Experimental & Very Broken, Not for Production Use)" bit comes in ;)
     
  4. fusioncroc

    fusioncroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    U.K.
    The install via /scripts/easyapache for Apache 2 seemed to work fine for me on a test server.
     
  5. tap

    tap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Yes, BUT after compiling apache 2 and reading a successfull message I see on my server apache 1.3.3!! but not apache 2.0.5.2

    So what is the problem? I compile apache 2 but get apache 1! :(
     
  6. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    If think it is fair to assume that, as you are still running Apache 1.x, Apache 2.x didn't compile correctly regardless of what the output of the Update Apache process in WHM tells you. Don't believe everything you read!

    Try the same again and select the option Verbose Build (show configure and gcc output) and keep an eye out for errors.
     
  7. tap

    tap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I use this option and the are no any inportant errors, etc.

    Everything seems to be ok!
     
  8. tap

    tap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    So what should I do?!
    there is the private exploit for apache 1.3.3
    I see it in my own eyes!

    I need to update apache!
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,472
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    There the possibility that the exploit may not apply. Have you got a URL to the advisory that you're concerned about?
     
  10. tap

    tap Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    no, it is private bug!
     
  11. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I'm a bit lost here as to what you mean by a private bug (or exploit, as referred to above).

    Would you care to clarify?
     
  12. brentp

    brentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ayr, North Queensland, Australia
    submitting the damn exploit to apache.org and cpanel might help get a new version of 1.x released without the need to upgrade to 2.

    Regards,
    Brent
     
Loading...

Share This Page