The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Switched servers, intermittent connectivity issues after 2 weeks!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by n8_115, Mar 25, 2011.

  1. n8_115

    n8_115 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I moved a handfull of websites from one server over to another, and I'm having a strange issue.

    My websites keep randomly not working (I get the same error as a website that has nameservers directed over to your server, but no website set up in WHM). They'll work for a day, or several hours, then go offline for a good chunk of a day.

    Is it possible there is an issue with the settings in my WHM?


    In-case I have something set up wrong, here is the information I have:

    domain1.com is my "nameserver" domain, I was given five domains when my server was put online, and the first two are set to ns1.domain1.com and ns2.domain1.com - As well on the page where you set the nameservers, I have ns1.domain1.com and ns2.domain1.com set.

    The other 15 domains on the server have ns1.domain1.com and ns2.domain1.com set as their nameservers.


    In WHM:
    ---

    Hostname is set to tech.domain1.com
    When I click Nameserver IP's, I see the following: (image attached)

    Primary / Secondary Resolver: 72.232.192.3 / 72.232.192.2

    --


    Another strange problem is that sometimes, a few of the websites on the server will still work while others will be offline.

    They are all linked to the same nameservers on domain1.com and all were basically set up the same.




    Anyone have an idea of what might be going on?

    It seems very strange that this is still going on after a couple weeks...
     
  2. nobodyk

    nobodyk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    When I don't know the answer to something I use:/scripts/fixeverything
     
  3. vanessa

    vanessa Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Running /scripts/fixeverything is not a solution - it's bad sysadmin practice to just run things without knowing what they do or what problem you're trying to solve.

    When the sites are offline and you get the default website page, that's an indication that the website is pointed to an IP that the httpd.conf is not matching the vhost to. Therefore, when you see the error again, try pinging the IP from the location that you're accessing the site from, and look at httpd.conf to see if the IP for that domain is the same.
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Additionally, you could simply be cached to the old location if you've moved the site. You should use a proxy to check the site to see if it shows the right content such as proxify.net or kproxy.com

    I've seen many many people cached to the old location and getting the wrong page due to moving the site and then it works for us when they submit a ticket. It seems many people appear to forget about propagation time, the existence of caching on the local system, and then they forget to try to use proxies to get a non-cached view quite frequently.
     
  5. n8_115

    n8_115 Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It's been almost another two weeks and I'm still having the same issue... was good for about 4 days then all of a sudden everything goes offline (on my WiFi) but it is working on other networks I've connected to.

    Is it possible this is an issue with my router?

    Lately I've had to go to an internet Cafe or tether my phone's internet connection to access my servers... I need to find a way to fix this. Is there possibly a way I can configure the nameservers/server settings to fix this problem?
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you tried a traceroute whenever it isn't working to see what that shows? If other computers work to connect to that server or site and it is isolated to one system where it periodically isn't working, then it's either routing or something else on the non-working system.

    Also when you mention everything goes offline, what happens precisely? What is the error message that you receive? Maybe you are getting blocked on the server by cPHulk Brute Force Protection or LFD (if you are using CSF). Temporary blocks by those two services would cause the inability to access the server for all services until the block has been removed and most times they do temporary blocks.
     
Loading...

Share This Page