Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Switching half a DNS Cluster?!

Discussion in 'Migrate to cPanel' started by bpw, Oct 19, 2011.

  1. bpw

    bpw Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I'm assisting with the migration between two cPanel servers.

    There are three VPS in this story.

    VPS1 we are moving all our sites off.

    VPS2 we are keeping.

    VPS3 is where all the sites from VPS1 will be migrated to.

    ---

    VPS1 and VPS2 have DNS Clustering enabled between them.

    ---

    VPS1 is currently our ns1 and VPS2 is currently our ns2

    ---

    If I move a domain from VPS1 to VPS3 what can I do about the DNS?

    I'm confused?!

    Thanks,
    BPW
     
  2. bpw

    bpw Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I think (unless anyone else has a better suggestion)... Make any changes to DNS to VPS1 and VPS3 at the same time (and let VPS1 sync VPS2)...

    Then when all the sites are moved... break the sync between VPS1 and VPS2... Hit Perform DNS Cleanup on VPS2...

    Then establish the DNS cluster between VPS3 and VPS2?

    How does that sound? ... anyone? Hello?

    ;-)
    BPW
     
  3. bpw

    bpw Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello!

    I'm still working on this! I have moved all the sites from the old server to the new server. Now I'm up to the DNS...

    Has anyone done this before? If I turn off the cluster, between VPS1 and VPS2. Should I remove all the old zones from VPS2 before turning on the cluster between VPS3 and VPS2? Can I just turn it on?

    ;-)
    BPW
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    You should not delete any DNS Zones until after you disable clustering on the first machine (VPS1). Wait until the accounts are migrated, then disable clustering on VPS1. At that point, you can enable clustering on your third machine (VPS3) and remove the zones from VPS1.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice