Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Tartarus backup tool with WHM / centOS

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by Lygas, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. Lygas

    Lygas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there,

    I just get account with hetzner and they offer 100GB free backup space in remote server.

    They suggest me to use the Tartarus backup script but when i go to install
    Code:
     deb http://wertarbyte.de/apt/ ./
    it i get this error:
    Code:
    -bash: deb: command not found
    I try to use this guide
    /http://wiki.hetzner.de/index.php/Tartarus_Backup-Konfiguration


    Also in english
    /http://zeldor.biz/2011/03/create-backups-with-tartarus/


    Any help about, or any better suggestion for backup script..?


    thanks,
    Demetris
     
  2. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    994
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You would need to contact Hetzner about this since this isn't a standard cPanel backup script.
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Those instructions clearly state at the top of the page:

    Neither OS is supported by cPanel that I'm aware of:
    System Requirements - cPanel Inc.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. Lygas

    Lygas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You mean Debian Infopro? sorry i forget type my server OS.

    WHM 11.30.3 (build 5)
    CENTOS 5.7 x86_64
     
  5. Lygas

    Lygas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator


    I was do that. What they answer:

    Code:
    [I]It is a Debian specific command. You have to download the actual version from
    [url=http://wertarbyte.de/tartarus/]Index of /tartarus[/url] and then you can install it manually.[/I]

    :(
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    There is no deb command for CentOS I don't believe. Did you try wget?

    I'm with SoftDux here, you might want to contact that company for assistance with installing this to CentOS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. Lygas

    Lygas Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes i try wget, and i install it with command:

    Code:
    wget [url]http://wertarbyte.de/tartarus/tartarus-0.9.8.tar.bz2[/url]
    
    But now i have to configure it.. this is the problem.. :(
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice