Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Teamspeak URL Forwarding

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by volux701, Jan 28, 2016.

  1. volux701

    volux701 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    So I purchased a Teamspeak server and have my own URL with Namecheap that I host with a provider with Cpanel.

    I've done a lot of research but never came up with a solution...

    I'm trying to make make it so I can use 'ts.myurlhere.com' to connect to teamspeak rather than the address they give me thats something like ts43.gameservers.com:1111

    In cpanel my input thing isn't what other people have so I'm very confused about what I am supposed to do the achieve my goal here.

    Picture of the SRV record adding below in my cpanel.

    upload_2016-1-28_14-16-15.png
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,870
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Could you verify if you are intending to configure a SRV record? A CNAME entry would likely work better, but it won't accept the use of a specific port. Check to see if the game server host automatically directs users to the correct port.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. volux701

    volux701 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I'm trying to add an SRV record via the Advanced Zone Editor. From what I've read, that's how you go about forwarding the Teamspeak address.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,870
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. volux701

    volux701 Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    I must have done something wrong.

    upload_2016-1-29_12-16-44.png

    I wanted the URL to be ts.example.net

    Also, am I connecting correctly? I'm just using the teamspeak client to try to connect but giving me an error. It's been nearly 24 hours since I did this.
     
    #5 volux701, Jan 29, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 29, 2016
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    43,870
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The record is configured as the tutorial explains. You may need to consult with TeamSpeak's support team for additional assistance.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice