The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Telnet/ssh

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by hugo24, Feb 21, 2003.

  1. hugo24

    hugo24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is telnet/ssh works the same as root access?

    In terms of security, is telnet/ssh safe offering to user?
     
  2. darksoul

    darksoul Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    telnet definitely not, and why would you even use telnet when there is ssh.
    I wouldn't give ssh access to users unless they have a justification for it
     
  3. hugo24

    hugo24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    In the CPANEL, there is a telnet/ssh. It means that it is different from the root access?
     
  4. darksoul

    darksoul Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Oh,
    thats just a java client that allows them to connect with ssh or telnet, it has nothing to do with the access you setup...
     
  5. hugo24

    hugo24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I see :) Thanks bloke!

    But it seems not functioning as it indicates not working in phpmanager. Does that mean by default, it is off? We need to turn it on ourself?
     
  6. SprintSlash

    SprintSlash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When you create accounts in WHM, there is an option called "Shell Access".. if it's checked, then it's enabled. You can also go to "Manage Shell Access" to see who has access to shell or not..
     
  7. hugo24

    hugo24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks SprintSlash,

    I always thought that by checking that, the user will have the access to ssh. So, am I wrong?
     
  8. kokoman

    kokoman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    BA, Argentina
    If you want to deny the access via ssh the best thing that you can do is to modify ssh config from /etc/ssh/sshd_config, edit that file and add this line 'AllowUsers <user1,user2,userN>' where <user1,user2,userN> must be replaced by user/s existing in your system.

    If you want to deny access for root you also could add 'AllowRootLogin no'

    Then run this

    kill -HUP `/var/run/sshd.pid`

    regards
     
Loading...

Share This Page