Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Templates messed up after update

Discussion in 'User Experience' started by ksechrist, Jan 27, 2019.

  1. ksechrist

    ksechrist Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just updated cpanel|whm to 76.0.18
    had messages to restart services or reboot so I rebooted
    logged into cpanel and found problems:
    can't see email accounts (they're there - I just can't see them in cpanel)
    various cpanel icons missing
    so I switched from x3 template to paper lantern
    logged back in
    now I can see email accounts
    a few icons still missing
    NO MYSQL DATABASES, MYPHPADMIN, DATABASE WIZARD...
     
  2. ksechrist

    ksechrist Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    oops accidentally posted b4 done...
    so I switched back to paper lantern and there's my sql stuff
    so I have some stuff not working in one them, different stuff not working in the other theme
    how can I get everything working in one cpanel theme?
     
  3. ksechrist

    ksechrist Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    so I deleted the paper lantern folder and ran /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/upcp --force
    that fixed everything on paper lantern except I still don't have anything for mysql in the database section
    I can switch to x3 and access mysql databases from there but the x3 theme is seriously messed up (no icons, can't see email accounts)
     
  4. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,164
    Likes Received:
    474
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @ksechrist


    x3 shouldn't be in use anymore as it was fully removed from the product in v60. This is detailed here: cPanel Deprecation Plan - cPanel Knowledge Base - cPanel Documentation along with the blog post here: It's time to say goodbye to X3 | cPanel Blog - I'd definitely stick to using paper_lantern, there's the retro style for it that looks a lot like x3 as well.

    With that being said since you're missing what seems to be MySQL related functions in the UI only, this makes me curious about what is enabled in the featurelist for the package assigned to the account. You can see the featurelists by going to WHM>>Packages>>Feature Lists. The following features need to be enabled for the MySQL portion of the UI to be present:

    - MySQL
    -PHP MyAdmin
    If you use it
    -PostgreSQL
    -PHPpgAdmin
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. ksechrist

    ksechrist Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Lauren. MySQL and PHPmyAdmin are there and working.

    FWIW - I'm new to managing a linux server, but have many years experience with windows server management and also with cpanel accounts on shared hosting.

    My provider got X3 working with a theme rsync. I'm baffled by some of the things they do - they initially "looked into" the Paper Lantern issue, then told me the update broke it, then told me this :

    The cPanel update broke the Paper Lantern functionality, I am afraid that this is not something that we can easily fix.

    There are two options to restore the previous server settings.

    1. Reimage the server (essentially wiping it clean and re-provisioning it).

    2. Restore the server from one of our backups. The service fee for the restore is...​

    and this:

    You have full root access to your server, which means that your server package does not include any of the proprietary software you mentioned. You have full control over the machine and can install/update and manage the server as you wish.

    As mentioned above, our 1H packages (which come with the initial server setup) are not compatible with the newer cPanel themes. If you wish to use newer versions, you can remove our 1H packages and replace them with a different server management software.

    You can list all of the installed packages on the server using the following command:
    Code:
    rpm -qa​

    So it sounds like I'm stuck with X3 for now. Is this going to cause me trouble?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,883
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Only if you require their out of date packages on an out of date server. If you don't, time to find a new Hosting Provider. Or, reload that server and configure it yourself. I suppose that voids support from them though.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. ksechrist

    ksechrist Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Infopro. That's about what I was thinking, but I JUST moved to this server. I hate the thought of moving again, and don't feel confident enough yet to reload and reconfigure myself.
     
  8. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,883
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I can appreciate that. You know what else is tough? Dealing with an out of date server. It boggles the mind to think that's what they suggest you do.

    Question, since you updated to 76.0.18 already, which option that they offered, are you going with, 1 or 2?

    Question 2, what are the packages that they're referring to, that are not compatable with an up to date cPanel server? I'm most curious about this. Sounds like some sort of cPanel addon, I guess.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. ksechrist

    ksechrist Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not going with 1 or 2. I just posted a nasty ticket complaining about not getting support because I updated ancient whm/cpanel software. I still need to update easyapache3 to 4 (I thought maybe they didn't load easyapache4 because I have a site that was using a very old php version - now I'm not so sure about that) ... then next year Centos will go EOL. :(

    I'm trying to figure out whether I can move forward from here on my own, or go through the trouble of moving to another hosting company. The hardware seems solid enough, but these kinds of issues are way over my head, and them not helping is extremely frustrating. Losing the MANY hours spent on this server is also frustrating. But I guess it's been a good (bad?) learning experience for me.

    The entire 1h software section is missing when I load the Paper Lantern theme - Here's what I see when X3 is loaded :

    HTTP CPU Usage Stats
    Cron CPU Usage Stats
    HTTP Memoray Usage Stats
    Cron Memory Usage Stats
    HTTP I/O Usage Stats
    Cron I/O Usage Stats
    Quota Stats
    SSH Manager
    PHP Version Manager
    PHP Variables Manager

    Honestly I've never used any of these except the last 2. And I think I can change PHP version in WHM - not sure about PHP variables though, haven't got that far yet....
     
  10. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,883
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    This is actually a requirement to get future updates to cPanel as of December, 2018.

    More work ahead for you it sounds like, unfortunately. It'll be worth it, newer technology, faster new website.

    This point is key here, IMO. You're going to be jumping thru hoops and trying to figure out things as you go to keep going on old software. What's your time worth?

    Most of them are stats it seems. Not tools. Up to date cPanel server with CloudLinux can give you all of them, with tools to manage.


    Did you ever see those signs on the road when they're doing repairs that says "Temporary inconvenience for permanent improvements"? I think that applies here. Make some changes for better stuff, it'll be worth your time.

    Good luck!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,883
    Likes Received:
    482
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. ksechrist

    ksechrist Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2019
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks infopro - I may be shopping soon!

    BTW, their reply to my complaint about not supporting me after updating their ancient software:
    They keep telling me various updates are NOT handled by them - so what the heck is a "managed dedicated server" ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice