The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temporary name for site as mysite.myhosting.com not myhosting.com/~mysite

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by davidosullivan, Sep 14, 2011.

1. davidosullivan

davidosullivan Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Reseller Owner
    Hi there,

I am very new to this cpanel stuff, so new in fact that I do not even know the terminology for my question so please don't get angry if this has been asked before as I do not even know what to search for right now.

OK Question:-

When you create a site in the WHM if the site's domain name is not yet pointing to the webspace you created you can still access it by going to myhosting.com/~mysite, the trouble is that this syntax breaks alot of Joomla plugins as Joomla thinks that anything after the first / is either a sub directory or a query, which is obviously not the case.

Is it possible to change this setting anywhere so that these names are instead written and accessed by going to mysite.myhosting.com?

Also I will be adding and creating sites programatically, so its not something I can do by hand for each account as they are created, I need ANY account that is created to be accessible by the name mysite.myhosting.com if the users domain is not currently pointing to their webspace on myhosting.com...

Hope somebody understands what I am getting at there. Thanks in advance

David

2. cPanelTristan

cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: Temporary name for site as mysite.myhosting.com not myhosting.com/~mysi

Hello David,