The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temporary "permission denied" error using root password

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by andresmoritan, Dec 8, 2014.

  1. andresmoritan

    andresmoritan Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello there,

    I'm having the following problem with two of my cPanel/WHM installation on different VPS providers.


    Sometimes when I'm trying to access to the WHM o the SSH using my root password I get the "Permission denied, please try again." error... The first time I get this error I asked the VPS provider to reset the password because I thought I was committing an error but when this keep happening again and again and I realized that a few hours later I was able to access successfully using the usual root password I stop calling them.


    Does anyone have a solution for this problem?


    Thank you in advance.
    Andrés M.

    P.S.: I'm posting this question here because the only thing that this two VPS servers have in common is that they both use cPanel/WHM as control panel.
     
  2. redblue

    redblue Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you have entered it incorrectly you could be temporarily being blocked by cPHulk.
     
  3. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I had the same issue.
    Personally, I think that i may have been under a brute force attack.
    When you are connected, search for CPHULK and add your IP address to the white list.
    If you have a dynamic IP, then you might have to add a range of IP's

    I've also added every subnet that I don't want connected via the blacklist.

    Goes along the lines
    1.0.0.0/8
    2.0.0.0/8
    3.0.0.0/8

    takes about 30 seconds to create in a spreadsheet.

    Also if like me, you are new to this, then one of the first things you should do is install CSF
    It's a highly configurable firewall.
     
    #3 keat63, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2014
  4. andresmoritan

    andresmoritan Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello redblue keat63,

    Thank you very much for your replies.


    I already added my IP to the white-list and also added some subnet that I don't want connected via the blacklist. I let you know how it goes from here.


    Best regards,
    Andres M.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    654
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Yes, I agree that it's likely happening because of cPHulk brute force detection. Let us know if the issue persists after adding your IP address to the white list.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page