The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Terminated Account Incorrectly Can I Fix?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ricardosh, Jan 22, 2008.

  1. ricardosh

    ricardosh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi People,

    Having a bit of trouble with WHM and my host is currently unavailable for support.

    I deleted an account with the intention of creating a new account for the same domain. However I forgot to use the option to remove all records and now I am being told that I have to remove the records from all the clusters.

    As stated my host is uncontactable so was wondering if there was anything I could do from the WHM?

    Anything at all?
     
  2. ricardosh

    ricardosh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Would it be easier to change the nameservers at the registrar and wait for the DNS cluster to pick up the new ones and then change them back?
     
  3. ricardosh

    ricardosh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just incase I have not been clear this is the message I get when trying to create the account:

    Account Creation Status: failed (Sorry, a DNS entry for supreme-supplements.co.uk already exists, please delete it first (from all servers in the dns cluster) )

    Sorry, a DNS entry for supreme-supplements.co.uk already exists, please delete it first (from all servers in the dns cluster)

    Is there any way I can work around this or does it have to be my hosts?:eek:
     
  4. mrprez

    mrprez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does your WHM have the option to Delete a DNS entry?
     
  5. ricardosh

    ricardosh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The only options I can see for DNS are:

    Add a DNS Zone
    Delete a DNS Zone
    Edit DNS Zone
    Edit MX Entry
    Edit Zone Templates
    Park a Domain

    However there is no DNS Zone for the said domain.

    I know where I went wrong when deleting the account I chose to keep local records by mistake.
     
  6. xrserver

    xrserver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sounds like you will have to get your host to delete the dns zone.
     
  7. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Search your named.conf file for the domain, you may need to delete it there.

    If not found, try searching http.conf
     
  8. ricardosh

    ricardosh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sorry to sound daft (complete newbie) where do I find these?
     
  9. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    /etc/named.conf

    /usr/local/apache/conf/http.conf
     
  10. Rickvz

    Rickvz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Do note that you will need to have root access to the server to access named.conf or httpd.conf. From your initial post you wanted to know if it was possible through WHM but you would need to access the files using SSH access.
     
  11. xrserver

    xrserver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ya from your first post I assumed you were a reseller. Do you have root ssh access?
     
  12. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I was ASSuming he had root access.... If he doesn't, he'd have to have the host check the named file...
     
  13. xrserver

    xrserver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    What I am thinking happened was that after he deleted it he lost ownership over the account but the dns zone is still there. So he would have to get his host to go into root whm and delete the zone there.
     
    #13 xrserver, Jan 24, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2008
  14. ckh

    ckh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I've deleted addon domains before where you can't add it back because it wasn't deleted in the named.conf file although the dns zone file was deleted and got the same error message.
     
Loading...

Share This Page