The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Terminating Account in WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jetheat, Aug 5, 2011.

  1. Jetheat

    Jetheat Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've backed up my whole site through cpanel and I've put it in the home directory of another server because I wish to move the site there.

    In WHM, I go to the "Restore a Full Backup/cpmove file" option but it gives me an error saying:
    "Cannot restore. That user already exists on this system"

    On this forum, I read somewhere that I should delete that account and then restore.

    My question is, if I Terminate that account from within WHM, will all the files on that domain be lost?

    Appreciate the help,

    JH
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes, the existing account and all files associated with it should be wiped if you delete that account.
     
  3. Jetheat

    Jetheat Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I mean, if I delete the account and then recreate it, will the files still be there? I have uploaded the files through FTP so I would imagine the files would still be asscociated to that domain.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    If you delete the account, the account is removed including all files on it.

    When you restore that backup you have, it would be restored properly then, there is no other user on that server with the same name.
     
  5. Jetheat

    Jetheat Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ok, I really want to restore a backup which I did from another site. I'm moving it to this site.

    I managed to move the backup file from my root folder into the /home folder through Terminal on the mac.

    But now, when I go back into WHM and attempt to restore a backup, it still says file not found.

    I get this:

    Searching /home....
    checked 15 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /home2....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /home3....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /root....
    checked 16 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /usr....
    checked 20 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /usr/home....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Searching /web....
    checked 0 files.....
    No Restorable archives found!

    Where it asks me to enter a username (Enter the username for the account you wish to restore:), I put in any name because if I put in the username of the account, it just says "Cannot restore. That user already exists on this system".

    So how do I get around this cache 22?

    JH
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,448
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Have you removed the account you asked about previously?

    I can't answer why after you moved the Full Account Backup into /home a second time, it was not seen properly. In your first post it was, but the user also existed so the system refused.

    I think we're getting our wires crossed here somewhere.

    Have you removed the account on the new server?
     
Loading...

Share This Page