SOLVED Terminating and Recreating cPanel Account

magicalwonders

Well-Known Member
Nov 21, 2012
112
2
18
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I have a VPS and want to delete one of my cPanel accounts and start afresh by recreating it using the same domain details.

I remember from terminating and deleting accounts in the past that some files are left on server and (back then) could only be removed following a server reboot.

Do I need to remove any left over files before recreating the account? Or will the files just get overwritten?

Hope someone can advise. :)

Edit. I forgot to mention, I'm using CENTOS 6.8 x86_64 virtuozzo WHM 62.0 (build 16)
 

Infopro

Well-Known Member
May 20, 2003
17,113
507
613
Pennsylvania
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
Twitter
I remember from terminating and deleting accounts in the past that some files are left on server and (back then) could only be removed following a server reboot.
I don't remember ever having to reboot after terminating an account.

You should have no issues removing the account and then recreating it.
 

magicalwonders

Well-Known Member
Nov 21, 2012
112
2
18
cPanel Access Level
Root Administrator
I don't remember ever having to reboot after terminating an account.

You should have no issues removing the account and then recreating it.
My memory is not what is was, but the on-screen report detailing what is deleted used to reference some files that could only be deleted manually. There was definitely a reboot involved if deleting these files, although it may have been after deletion instead of before. Maybe current version of cPanel now deletes everything with no traces left behind?