Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

test ftp backup file fails

Discussion in 'Data Protection' started by kernow, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Getting a file can't be found error when testing the backup ftp destination in the WHM backup config page. If someone knows where and what test file name is let us know please.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #1 kernow, Jan 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2014
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,183
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    This can happen if the backup directory you entered under "FTP Destination" is not valid. You may want to enter "/" to ensure it uses the directory that you enter upon FTP login.

    Thank you.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    168
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep, a missing "/" before the named dir was the cause.
    Thanks cPanelMichael :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    45,183
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. Thank you for updating this thread with the outcome.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Jose Nobile

    Jose Nobile Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cali, Colombia
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I want added something more. The directory must exist in the server for cPanel passes the validation.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice