The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Test Licence Install question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mmorey23, May 27, 2002.

  1. mmorey23

    mmorey23 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Greets to all,

    Im new using Linux and Cpanel and have run into a small issue I could use some help with.

    I am running Red Hat 7.3 (server) using the suggested partition format for Cpanel.

    I requested a test licence so I can install and learn the programming before i purchase it. Dave from DarkORB wrote me back telling me my IP was added and gave me the location to download from. I downloaded the install file for 7.3 into the /home and attempted to install. ie:

    # cd /home
    # sh cpanel-redhat7.3-install.sea

    What i got was a quick flash of a terminal window and that was all.

    The IP that I had given Dave had changed and I have a diffrent IP now. Could this have caused my problem?
    Also, any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks In Advance ;)

    Matthew
     
  2. mmorey23

    mmorey23 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Advice recieved from Dave:

    Try running #chmod +x on the
    file you downloaded before sh-ing it.

    Also, my new IP was added.

    Thanks for the help, its installing now!
     
  3. mmorey23

    mmorey23 Registered

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Almost completed the install...

    After the line &upgrading Perl..../..Done&
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....

    This line is running for a few hundred times and more are added every few seconds...

    Is this somthing I should worry about?
     
  4. ellijay

    ellijay Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sorry to bump, but my test install did the same thing...I left it at quitting time yesterday and it was on 'waiting for rsync' over and over. I came in this morning and it's STILL doing it.
    I killed it and started fresh...everything went ok, then it completed perl and is doing rsynch again.

    What am I doing wrong?
    :)


    [quote:53c34c6da3][i:53c34c6da3]Originally posted by mmorey23[/i:53c34c6da3]

    Almost completed the install...

    After the line &upgrading Perl..../..Done&
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....
    Waiting for rsync to finish....

    This line is running for a few hundred times and more are added every few seconds...

    Is this somthing I should worry about?[/quote:53c34c6da3]
     
  5. sky

    sky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just a question ...

    u guys using static or dynamic ip ???
     
  6. ellijay

    ellijay Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    [quote:7eb978e072][i:7eb978e072]Originally posted by sky[/i:7eb978e072]

    just a question ...

    u guys using static or dynamic ip ???[/quote:7eb978e072]

    Static...Support says it could be a firewall issue (port 873)...I'm not behind a firewall though. Instead, i am going to try RH7.1 instead of Mandrake.
    I'll notify if anything different happens.
     
  7. kes

    kes Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    waiting for rsync - tell me about it. No firewall here either :( re ran this 4 times, I'm getting sick of it...

    Now what?
     
Loading...

Share This Page