The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Test RPMs of Pure-FTPD 1.0.20

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cPanelJason, Aug 4, 2004.

  1. cPanelJason

    cPanelJason Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello all,

    Here are some RPMs that just have been rolled and tested, but we need some more testing done. If you'd like to use them, just download and install. This version supports TLS, different transfer log formats, quota support, and I upped the max username length to 52.

    Remember these are TEST RPMs so please use at your own risk; however, additional testing in the wild will make our jobs easier if there are problems in the future. Please post any findings to this thread or PM me. The faster we get these tested the sooner they can be released :)

    Redhat RPM:
    http://support.cpanel.net/pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls.i386.rpm

    RPM Modified for Trustix:
    http://support.cpanel.net/pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls.trustix.i586.rpm


    Installation:
    1.) Change your FTP configuration in WHM to pure-ftp
    2.) wget or download the RPM
    3.) then run: rpm -e pure-ftpd
    4.) rpm -Uvh new.rpm.here
    5.) Edit the /etc/pure-ftpd.conf to your liking
    6.) /scripts/restartsrv ftpserver

    There is one issue that needs addressing. In /etc/pure-ftpd/ you'll find sym links of ip addresses to user's home directories. Change all the links for these ips (as long as they aren't dedicated ips) to the user ftp's home (usually /var/ftp). This will let the main anonymous user login to their own home directory. If you don't do this, when users login as anonymous they'll end up in whatever user's home directory that's associated in /etc/pure-ftpd/ with the ip they connected to. You can find out the home directory of ftp very easily:

    root@localhost [/]# grep ftp /etc/passwd
    ftp:x:14:50:FTP User:/var/ftp:/sbin/nologin

    We already have a script to fix this and it'll be put out with the official release of Pure-FTP 1.0.20

    Thank you for your help!
     
  2. Myacen

    Myacen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nice to see some more development, however should you remove both proftpd and pureftpd and replace them with vsftp?
    http://vsftpd.beasts.org/

    Why bother wasting precious time on different ftp servers? Have one standard ftp program remove the rest. You will reduce support requests also.
     
  3. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider

    vsftp is does not support everything we need.
     
  4. Myacen

    Myacen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2002
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the update Nick :)
     
  5. cPanelJason

    cPanelJason Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Has anyone given these a go yet? Has anyone run into any problems with them? Please let me know, thank you!
     
  6. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not yet but the rpm instructions seem a bit strange. rpm -e will remove then rpm -Uvh is the upgrade switch. Seems like rpm -e followed by rpm -ivh is a more likely option.
     
  7. cPanelJason

    cPanelJason Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Either way will work. You could just upgrade over the current version, but I'd recommend erasing the old and installing/upgrading to the new one. Thank you!
     
  8. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    If you'll give a link to the script to fix the "issue" I'll test it out.
     
  9. foxboy

    foxboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    anybody tested it on fedora? Sounds like a hell of work with these links.
     
  10. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Well, I bit the bullet and tried it out on CentOS. It appears to function properly.
     
  11. ServIntJim

    ServIntJim Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Mclean VA
    Was this compiled with the --without-sendfile option by chance?
     
  12. cPanelJason

    cPanelJason Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, it is compiled without sendfile for compatibility with virtuozzo file systems.
     
  13. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I got 40 systems I can try it on :D Been wanting a pure-ftp update for a while now actually. proftpd seems to be a usless tool sometimes :)

    Where to report bugs though ? I assume if something goes wrong that simply removing it and re-runing the default install of pure-ftpd will put thigns back? Guess this is why they call it testing :cool:
     
  14. cPanelJason

    cPanelJason Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you find a bug, PMing me or posting to this thread would be best, please.

    And yes, you are correct. If something is terribly wrong, just remove it (rpm -e pure-ftpd) and install the old one (or /scripts/ensurerpm pure-ftpd). Thank you!
     
  15. jason007

    jason007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Just for kicks I tried it on a Redhat 8 test box and it gave two failed dependencies

    root@test-serv [~]# rpm -Uvh pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls.i386.rpm
    error: Failed dependencies:
    libcrypto.so.4 is needed by pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls
    libssl.so.4 is needed by pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls
    root@test-serv [~]#
     
  16. cPanelJason

    cPanelJason Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Yes, since this version supports TLS you'll need OpenSSL installed as well. Just:

    /scripts/ensurerpm openssl

    Thank you!
     
  17. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I've installed OpenSSL and it still won't work right. Blah...


    root@server [~]# rpm -Uvh pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls.i386.rpm
    error: Failed dependencies:
    libcrypto.so.4 is needed by pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls
    libssl.so.4 is needed by pure-ftpd-1.0.20-9.tls


    I get that... Whuts the damn deal?

    Edit: It seems to have been installed but now I can't login to ANY ftp accounts on my server. Why?
     
    #17 __DoPe_ShOw__, Aug 27, 2004
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2004
  18. foxboy

    foxboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    read the full first post:

     
  19. The MAzTER

    The MAzTER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    would be nice if pure-ftpd could be configed though WHM or uses the conf file.

    Now i have no clue how to change the max client thing.

    at the moment only 1 ip is allowed to make a connection with FTP on our server.

    bit anoying if you want to use multiple ftp windows or ftp to multiple accounts at the same time
     
  20. __DoPe_ShOw__

    __DoPe_ShOw__ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Hey foxboy, first off, I did read the post. The fact that I see this:

    That was in the first post. Incase you haven't noticed alot of people here don't really know *nix commands and can't or won't really want to edit config files. I mean I don't really care, I am switching servers anyways but for the people that do care, it'd be nice to have that script and not have to worry bout having to edit config scripts. I am sticking with the old version TILL someone gets off their ass and fixes the damn software. THANK YOU!
     
Loading...

Share This Page