The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The connection to the server was reset

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Timka, Oct 24, 2006.

  1. Timka

    Timka Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    First of all Im a total noob in this so if you do decide to help me please be very specific.
    Thank You
    So all the http adress on my server are down I can still log on thru FTP but when I type in the adree in a browser I get this.
    Code:
    The connection was reset
    
    The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading.
    
        *   The site could be temporarily unavailable or too busy. Try again in a few
              moments.
    
        *   If you are unable to load any pages, check your computer's network
              connection.
    
        *   If your computer or network is protected by a firewall or proxy, make sure
              that Firefox is permitted to access the Web.
    and here is the server status
    [​IMG]
    also when I try and restart the http server I get an error
    Code:
    Waiting for httpd to restart.... . . . . . . . . . . finished.
    
    httpd status
    
    root     13204  1.0  0.8  18452 17044 ?        S    14:12   0:00 /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/whostmgr ./reshttp
    httpd has failed, please contact the sysadmin.
    Anyhelp would be appreciated.
    thank you
     
  2. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    SSH to the server and run this command, this will help in troubleshooting the problem you have:
    /sbin/service httpd configtest
     
  3. Timka

    Timka Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thanks for the reply did what you told me i got SYNTAX OK message back
    then I tryed restarting it and starting it but nothing happens it says it has been started

    P.S. if I do a SERVER REBOOT will that damdge anything?
    and which one should I do?
    Forceful Server Reboot
    Graceful Server Reboot
     
    #3 Timka, Oct 24, 2006
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2006
  4. oshs

    oshs Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When you run the command:

    # /sbin/service httpd configtest

    Do you get any similar lines being displayed?

    If so, you need to remove these redundant entries and then restart httpd.
     
  5. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    No, you don't have/need to reboot the server. Rebooting the server Should be done in two cases, right after the kernel is being re-compiled/upgraded, or the server crash and won't respond to any thing.

    You can seek help from your Data Center, or you can seek professional help.
     
Loading...

Share This Page