The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The domain X may not be created by X because X is already owned by another user

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ougogo, Jan 31, 2016.

  1. ougogo

    ougogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I've the same error for all of my reseller's accounts...

    reseller-1.png

    I have absolutely not changed the settings a long time.
    And it's only with the reseller's domain...

    Any idea ?

    Regards,
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Is this domain name associated with the hostname of the server? Is "Allow resellers to create accounts with subdomains of the server’s hostname" enabled under the "Domains" tab in "WHM >> Tweak Settings"?

    Thank you.
     
  3. ougogo

    ougogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello !

    No, reseller's domain is not the same as server's hostname.

    No but if I turn on this option, it doesn't solved my problem. And I don't want that resellers are available to use server's hostname, only their own domain.

    Thank you.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Try searching for one of the domain names you can not create in the /var/cpanel/users directory to see if it's already added to an account. EX:

    Code:
    grep $domain /var/cpanel/users/*
    Also, search for the domain name in /etc/named.conf to see if a DNS zone already exists for this domain name.

    Thank you.
     
  5. ougogo

    ougogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No trace of the domain name.

    Exactly the same thing with other reseller accounts.
    Each time, resellers can not create an account with a subdomain of its primary domain.

    But, all resellers are under one "master" reseller.
    And with this one, I can create users with reseller's domain.

    Thank you !
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you elaborate on this? cPanel does not include a master reseller system by default. Are you using a third-party application, or simply assigning "root" privileges to an existing reseller account?

    Thank you.
     
  7. ougogo

    ougogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, I simply assigning "root" privileges to an existing reseller account.

    Thank you.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can review the exact configuration of your resellers and reproduce the issue? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  9. ougogo

    ougogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Support Request Id 7453221.

    Thank you.
     
  10. Vision

    Vision Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    We are facing the same issue. Our resellers cannot create accounts with subdomains. Everything was working fine before the upgrade to WHM 54.0 (build 8).

    Thank you.
     
  11. ougogo

    ougogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks Vision !

    I was about to think that I was crazy !
    cPanel support let me think that this function does not exist and that it never existed.

    So how to solve this problem?
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm unable to reproduce the issue on cPanel version 54.0.12. Here are the steps I took:

    1. Created a reseller account with test123.tld with "root" privileges.
    2. Accessed WHM as the reseller.
    3. Created a new account with subdomain.test123.tld when "test123.tld" is owned by the "root" account.

    The following option is enabled in "WHM >> Tweak Settings" under the "Domains" tab:

    Allow WHM users to create subdomains across accounts

    Could you let me know which steps I need to change in order to reproduce the issue?

    Thank you.
     
  13. Vision

    Vision Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I just tried this again. The only difference is that the reseller owns his account. So the "test123.tld" is owned by the reseller's account and not by root.
     
  14. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've tested with ownership values configured as the reseller username, and as "root", but am unable to reproduce the issue. Are you sure cPanel version 54.0.12 is installed on this system? If so, could you verify how you are logging in as the reseller or creating accounts?

    Thank you.
     
  15. Vision

    Vision Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Both servers are on Cpanel version 54.0.8 (Release Tier).
    "Allow cPanel users to create subdomains across accounts" and
    "Allow WHM users to create subdomains across accounts" are both off .
    I am logging in as the reseller and try to create the new account.
     
  16. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you temporarily switch to the "Current" build tier to see if the issue persists in cPanel version 54.0.12?

    Thank you.
     
  17. Vision

    Vision Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I upgraded to Cpanel 54.0.12 and the issue persists. I tried to add/remove privileges from the reseller but nothing works. Only if i choose to enable for the reseller "Root access - All features" the account is created.
     
  18. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look and reproduce the issue? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  19. Vision

    Vision Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  20. swbrains

    swbrains Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I just noticed this issue today. It is a showstopper for our business and requires immediate attention. I believe my server was pending an update to cPanel a few days ago and is now at 54.0 build 8. I am set for auto-updating and I'm on the 'RELEASE' tier. I cannot create a new account under my reseller account that worked fine just a few days ago. I am running on CentOS 7. Is this a known issue and if so, when will it be corrected?

    FYI: Like a previous user mentioned, if I give the reseller "root" privileges, the account is created properly.
     
    #20 swbrains, Feb 3, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2016
Loading...

Share This Page