The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The hostname should be a domain name, not an IP

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by globcom, Dec 19, 2014.

  1. globcom

    globcom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hello,

    Do you have any idea to solve this trouble ?

    -1.539 FSL_HELO_BARE_IP_2 IP used in the HELO request
    The hostname should be a domain name, not an IP


    -0.865 RCVD_NUMERIC_HELO Received: contains an IP address used for HELO


    I can not change to put the hostname instead of the IP

    - Removed -

    (my goal is 10/10)

    Thanks you
    Eric
     
    #1 globcom, Dec 19, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2014
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  3. globcom

    globcom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I don't know why the IP is used instead of hostname for HELO request

    But spamassassin doesn't like this.
    -1.539 FSL_HELO_BARE_IP_2 IP used in the HELO request
    The hostname should be a domain name, not an IP


    My hostname is ici.domain.ovh -> 37.59.x.xxx

    Thank you for your assistance.
     
    #3 globcom, Dec 19, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2014
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Is your hostname properly setup in WHM?
     
  5. globcom

    globcom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes, I think.

    How can I be sure?
     
  6. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,482
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did you have a look at the docs I've linked you to?
     
  7. globcom

    globcom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes of course.
    But it's seem not to be a trouble with hostname. it concerns rather exim?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Have you setup RDNS for the IP address so that it points back to the hostname of the server? If not, please send a request to your data center to have them setup RDNS for your IP address.

    Thank you.
     
  9. globcom

    globcom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hello Michael,

    yes, the RDNS is [Removed]
    I don't understand.

    - - - Updated - - -

    The config seems to be good :- Removed-
     
    #9 globcom, Dec 19, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2014
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  11. globcom

    globcom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    It is when I test deliverability with these site : *ttp://www.mail-tester.com/

    On SpamAssassin part :

    -1.539 FSL_HELO_BARE_IP_2 IP used in the HELO request
    The hostname should be a domain name, not an IP
    -0.865 RCVD_NUMERIC_HELO Received: contains an IP address used for HELO

    On my others cpanel servers, I obtain 10/10 score

    Regards,
    Eric
     
  12. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  13. globcom

    globcom Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ticket open #5858717

    Thank you Michael :)
     
  14. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    To update this thread, the issue was that this is most likely a false positive with mail-tester.com. Other checking services showed that the HELO was correct.
     
Loading...

Share This Page