The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The irony with CPanel.....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WebmastTroy, Jun 6, 2003.

  1. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Anyone else see the irony in not being able to manually update to the STABLE version of CPanel/WHM?

    I must say, I love logging into WHM and seeing things like:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    We manually update to stable on our machines... I don't know whats wrong with yours if that option is not available!

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    The option is there and it's selected but we continue to get the release version.

    STABLE = RELEASE
    RELEASE = RELEASE
    EDGE = EDGE

    Check your WHM version and see what you're actually running.

    <EDIT>

    Something else that cracks me up is the /scripts/fixeverything script.
     
    #3 WebmastTroy, Jun 9, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2003
  4. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I haven't had this problem myself.. and I haven't heard of anyone else having this issue either.. perhaps you have the wrong one checked off.. it does seem a little cluttered.

    As for the fixeverything script.. its meant to run all the fix scripts.. what do you find funny about it?

    Look if you don't like it.. vote with your feet and move onto something "bigger and better". Otherwise get some nice cheese cuz thats a very nice whine you got there :D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Svaha

    Svaha Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I didn't think he was whining myself...I have the same issue. It just won't update to a stable release, no matter what I do.

    I like Cpanel but you gotta admit it's got a few kinks.

    I think the "fixeverything" script is hilarious...it's not about what it does, it's just got a great name. Wish every program came with a "fixeverything" script. Just think what that would be like on Windows. Probably upgrade it to Linux! :D
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    :D :D :D :D :D
     
  7. DWHS.net

    DWHS.net Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,569
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    LA, Costa RIca
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    What's the point of putting someone down?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Sorry if it came out as trying to put someone down.. was only an attempt at humour.

    Have you submitted a ticket with regards to the stable / release update problem?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. WebmastTroy

    WebmastTroy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    A bug report, yes......

    but doesn't that just prove my point even further? I have to submit a bug report to tell them I can't download a/the STABLE version of their software?

    As indicated in my post above, if I select the STABLE version, I get RELEASE. If I select RELEASE, I get RELEASE. If I select EDGE, I get EDGE. I see that that page IS quite cluttered but that apparently isn't the issue.

    If you're running a stable version and have root WHM access, log in and go under the Reseller Center. Under View Reseller Stats, tell me if your table is aligned correctly (look at the very bottom row....there shouldn't be a number in the Suspended column). I know it's not in the RELEASE version. It's supposed to be fixed in a later EDGE version according to Nick (had to submit a bug report for that, also). :rolleyes:

    Makes you wonder just how much testing is done before the feature progresses to RELEASE and STABLE.....

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 15677
     
Loading...

Share This Page