The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The login is invalid.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Luann peixe, May 9, 2012.

  1. Luann peixe

    Luann peixe Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This started happening out of nowhere, now I can not access the VPS nor the WHM. I believe it is the firewall...
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please contact the node administrator for access into the machine to shut off the firewall and/or cPHulk Brute Force protection if that is enabled:

    Code:
    for i in `ps aux | grep -i "cphulkd - process" | awk {'print $2'}` ;do kill -9 $i ;done
    /usr/local/cpanel/bin/cphulk_pam_ctl --disable
    The first command will kill any cPhulkd processes, while the second will disable it.
     
  3. Luann peixe

    Luann peixe Registered

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If I do this will not affect the safety of the machine?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to access the machine to even log into it. After you've logged into the machine, if it was cPHulk Brute Force Protection, you can then whitelist your IP(s) to where you won't be blocked again. The machine right now is so secure you cannot even access it yourself. I would imagine you would want to be able to access it, although it is up to you if you want to have the component disabled so you can.
     
  5. Ricksterm

    Ricksterm Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm also getting this issue, I cannot login to WHM, CPanel, FTP, Email, SSH seems to be getting denied too. It started after we got updated to 11.32 build 27 a week ago, I did manage to get on with enough time to change us back to the stable branch and reinstall cpanel, but this issue cropped up again yesterday and this time I cannot get in at all no matter what I try, All I get is "The login is invalid".

    I have seen several threads across forums on the internet all from this Month with this issue, so I am sure it has to be build 27!
     
    #5 Ricksterm, May 10, 2012
    Last edited: May 10, 2012
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you sure it isn't cPHulk Brute Force Protection, though, or CSF having an issue in conjuction with the 11.32 update? For example, I'm not having an issue on that build in logging into my machines.
     
  7. Ricksterm

    Ricksterm Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not sure if it's CPHulk or not, I have tried to login from other IP addresses to rule out my own being blocked, everything (all accounts for cPanel, FTP, Email) results in "The login is invalid."

    I was using FTP to upload stuff to one of my accounts yesterday just fine, then when I went to log in to WHM to set up a new account the first try gave the error and I am certain I was using the correct password.

    I'm not sure if we are using CSF or not? If it's an option it's something I've not enabled/installed.

    Is it possible that CPHulk is blocking all IP's from logging in for a period of time?
     
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, it is possible all IPs are being blocked due to one attacker blocking the service. That's the purpose of whitelisting your IP in cPHulk Brute Force Protection so that you can always access even when someone else blocks that user's login due to brute forcing it.
     
  9. LAZer

    LAZer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    at net :D
    hi , i faced the same issue today !
    "The login is invalid."

    there are lots of records in cphulkd in whm , with no ip . the only info is in the fields of "system" and "time"
    i tried restarting cpanel , restarting csf firewall , and cphulkd but no changes.

    hopefully i had a ssh session active in another windows and i can use it for logging into server.

    those commands return : no such process .
    and the second line : no such a file or directory !
     
    #9 LAZer, May 11, 2012
    Last edited: May 11, 2012
  10. Ricksterm

    Ricksterm Registered

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's good to know others are getting this issue all of a sudden also. I am still trying to resolve it here but I think all of my options have been exhausted unless one of the staff here can enlighten us?

    LAZer did you manage to get access to WHM again? From your post it is not 100% clear to me.
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    670
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you feel this is a flaw with cPHulk, please open a support ticket so our staff can take a closer look:

    Submit A Ticket

    You can post the ticket number here so we can provide updates to this thread.

    Thank you.
     
  12. nicearma

    nicearma Registered

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the same problem, i can connect sometime and sometime i can't, and if i have lucky i connect but after about 10 minute the system close the session and i can't connect more, or i have to wait sometime for connect again
     
    #12 nicearma, May 11, 2012
    Last edited: May 11, 2012
  13. azn_romeo_4u

    azn_romeo_4u Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same problem. I can't login into WHM. If I use firefox it says Invalid Login. If I use IE it says "A network error occurred while sending your login request. Please try again. If this condition persists, contact your network service provider." Chrome says the same thing as firefox.

    This started happening since the last cpanel update. I think it's a bug of some sort. I'm trying to login with root. It works on ssh, but not on whm.
     
  14. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is your IP whitelisted in cPHulk Brute Force Protection? Do you have cPHulk Brute Force Protection enabled? If the answer is no to the first and yes to the second, have you tried either a) whitelisting your IP in WHM > cPHulk Brute Force Protection, or b) disabling cPHulk Brute Force Protection. I see no-one here who has confirmed it was indeed cPHulk or not and whether whitelisting the IP helped. Thanks!
     
  15. ehask71

    ehask71 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I dont think your understanding. We can login no problem via ssh which shows we are using the correct passwd. Yet when I try WHM I get login invalid. I wait 10 mins and I can login.

    Something weird going on for awhile I thought datacenter was doing maint until I ran into it on a new server tonight
     
  16. acenetgeorge

    acenetgeorge Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Southfield, MI
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Out of curiosity. what Port are you trying to connect to? I saw this a couple of times in firefox recently where if you try to connect via SSL it would report that the login was invalid, but if you use the non-SSL port it would log in successfully. This would happen in both cPanel on port 2083 and on webmail at port 2096.

    This may help you track down what is happening, Tristan. It does not happen very often, but we received a couple of reports form our clients.
     
    #16 acenetgeorge, May 29, 2012
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
  17. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When it happened, did you see any errors in /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log location?
     
  18. tw2w

    tw2w Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am having a similar issue. I can log into a cpanel on one site at the same hosting facility however I cannot log into another site cpanel at the same hosting facility. I get invalid login. We have whitelisted the ip at on the host side, I have cleared the dns from the terminal. I have tried logging in from my mac and my pc, both on the same ip and both get the same error. I am not using a formfill app. I have pasted the credentials in and get the same invalid login on this one site. Can anyone help me fix this or lead me in the right directions. Days of frustration. Thanks
     
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,811
    Likes Received:
    670
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you checked to see if cPHulk Brute Force Detection is preventing authentication?

    Thank you.
     
  20. tw2w

    tw2w Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    would the cPHulk Brute Force Detection need to be checked on my side ( domain owner ), or on the hosting side ( hostzilla cpanel).

    Thanks

    - - - Updated - - -

    Hostzilla has whitelisted my ip and it is currently not blocked on their side.
     
Loading...

Share This Page