Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

SOLVED The service cphulkd appears to be down

Discussion in 'Security' started by Ryan Hartwick, Apr 10, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Ryan Hartwick

Ryan Hartwick Registered

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Everyone,

First time posting in these forums. We're getting the following message on a daily basis it seems. Normally a message follows immediately afterwards that the service has recovered. I'm not a Cpanel expert but I've tried looking through the logs but I'm not finding anything that tells me what's going on. This could just be because I don't know what I'm looking for though.

Time of the message seems to vary, normally the late evening or early morning:

Code:
    The service “cphulkd” appears to be down.

Server <hiding this>
    Primary IP Address <hiding this>
    Service Name cphulkd
    Service Status failed [IMG]
    Notification The service “cphulkd” appears to be down.
    Service Check Method The system’s command to check or to restart this service failed.
    Number of Restart Attempts 1
    Service Check Raw Output (XID muvqw6) The “cphulkd” service is down.

The subprocess “/usr/local/cpanel/scripts/restartsrv_cphulkd” reported error number 3 when it ended.
    Startup Log Apr 06 00:15:02 <hiding this> systemd[1]: Starting cPanel brute force detector services...
    Apr 06 00:15:02 <hiding this> systemd[1]: PID file /var/run/cphulkd_processor.pid not readable (yet?) after start.
    Apr 06 00:15:02 <hiding this> systemd[1]: Started cPanel brute force detector services.
    Apr 06 01:40:02 <hiding this> systemd[1]: cphulkd.service: main process exited, code=killed, status=14/ALRM
    Apr 06 01:40:02 <hiding this> systemd[1]: Unit cphulkd.service entered failed state.
    Apr 06 01:40:02 <hiding this> systemd[1]: cphulkd.service failed.