Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The service ipaliases appears to be down

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RobG, Feb 7, 2017.

Tags:
  1. RobG

    RobG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I'm getting 100 emails a day alerting me ipaliases service fails. I'm a novice and out of my depth so would really appreciate a hand. I've SSHed into the server and restarted and started the ipaliases service and received no error. Plus all websites are working so I'm stumped as to what's actually wrong.
    Thanks, Rob
    Code:
    --------
    Service Name ipaliases
    Service Status failed 
    Notification The service “ipaliases” appears to be down.
    Service Check Method The system’s command to check or to restart this service failed.
    Number of Restart Attempts 7
    Startup Log No startup log
    Memory Information
    Used 1.09 GB
    Available 581 MB
    Installed 1 GB
    Load Information 0.09 0.04 0.01
    Uptime 1 hour, 20 minutes, and 38 seconds
    
     
    #1 RobG, Feb 7, 2017
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 7, 2017
  2. NOC_Serverpoint

    NOC_Serverpoint Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2016
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hello,

    Can you please try to find the IP's which were down recently.

    grep IP# /var/log/messages

    try running :

    service ipaliases start

    Thanks,
     
  3. RobG

    RobG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for responding! I'm not much closer to finding the problem or IF indeed there is a problem.
    Rob G

    When I SSH into root and run the command:
    root@pegasus [~]# grep IP# /var/log/messages
    root@pegasus [~]#
    It returns nothing. Can I assume that no IP address was recently down?

    When I run:
    root@pegasus [~]# service ipaliases start
    root@pegasus [~]#
    It returns nothing. Can I assume it has started?

    Then I decided to show the IP addresses and got this response:

    root@pegasus [~]# ip addr show
    1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    2: venet0: <BROADCAST,POINTOPOINT,NOARP> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN
    link/void
    3: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN
    link/ether 00:18:51:41:31:56 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.169.216.91/24 brd 192.169.216.255 scope global eth0
    inet 192.169.195.42/32 brd 192.169.195.42 scope global eth0:0
    inet 192.169.195.60/32 brd 192.169.195.60 scope global eth0:1
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    looks like your ob a Openvz VPS you probably do not need IP alias's
    and you can just disable. you should verify with your provider to make sure they don't have some kind of custom network set up
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you verify which version of cPanel is installed on this system? You can check with a command such as:

    Code:
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    There's a resolution that's included in cPanel version 62 addressing what seems like the issue you have described:

    Fixed case CPANEL-9469: Fix chksrvd properly restarting IPAliases.

    Thank you.
     
  6. RobG

    RobG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi. Thank you for your assistance.
    Yes dalem it is a VPS.

    CPanelMichael, Im on my android phone atm so went in through WHM and checked the Change Log and CPanel version is 62.0.11.

    With thanks, Rob
     
  7. RobG

    RobG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Opps - just hopped on the computer and SSH in. It's version: 11.62.0.10
     
  8. RobG

    RobG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry for the obvious dumb question BUT if CPANEL-9469 was supposed be a fix, then why am I still getting 100 emails a day telling me the system’s command to check or to restart this service failed and that the service “ipaliases” appears to be down?
    Thanks
     
  9. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  10. RobG

    RobG Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cPanelMichael, Apologies for the delay. Life came knocking...
    Thank you for your help - very much appreciated. I've opened the ticket and received the Support Request ID: 8365017

    I really look forward to getting this solved. Cheers, RobG
     
  11. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,427
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To update, it looks like the issue was addressed after removing the "/root/.cpanel/datastore/all_iplist.db" cached file and allowing it to regenerate.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page