The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

theplanet and hostname problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bsdmanpl, Jun 16, 2004.

  1. bsdmanpl

    bsdmanpl Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi
    I have server on theplanet.com and I have a problem with hostname and nameservers. I'm adding a Hostname
    "Found your domain name to be: mydomain.com
    Found your main ip to be: 10.128.12.45"
    After that I get entry for your hostname is missing ?
     
  2. coastinc

    coastinc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2002
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ThePlanet as most data centers do, setup the server with default information. You have to change it to your exact needs.

    If you need assistance with this, just drop us an e-mail.
     
  3. bsdmanpl

    bsdmanpl Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi
    Is it true that I had to have 2 computers to set ns1 and ns2 ?
     
  4. Host4u2

    Host4u2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, absolutely not! Where did you hear such a thing? The Primary (NS1) and Secondary (NS2) nameservers refer to the same server.
     
  5. bsdmanpl

    bsdmanpl Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when I have my main domain on ns1.theplanet.com and ns2.theplanet.com do I need to change nameservers of my domain in my register to ns1.mydomain ns2.mydomain ?
     
  6. lost

    lost Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I would read about servers, hosting , networking etc before you attempt to go any further.
    10.128.12.45 is a private ip. You need to set up your correct main ip, your name servers in /etc/resolv.conf, and a variety of other tasks.
    This is something you need to do yourself, kind a like the 'minimum job requirement'

    L
     
  7. Rooter

    Rooter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, U.S.A.
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To have full redundancy with your DNS each name server should actually be a separate machine on a separate network. If you use the same machine for all of your name servers you risk not having DNS resolve if the server goes down or is not accessible.
     
Loading...

Share This Page