Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Think my hosting company did a botched cPanel/WHM Install...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gpreston, Jun 14, 2005.

  1. gpreston

    gpreston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    West Chester, PA
    I recently had a customer complain about not being able to access the secure portion of their cPanel account via

    https://www.theirsite.com/cpanel/
    or
    https://www.theirsite.com:2083/

    They are able to access the normal unsecure version of cPanel though. I went and looked at /var/log/cpanel-install-thread0.log and thread1.log and saw this at the end of thread1.log:

    I don't think our cPanel/WHM install actually finished successfully. Unfortunately, this is really the first time its been brought to my attention. What can I do to verify that this is the case? Also, what can I check to see what else may have not been completed since the install script apparently errored out at some point. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated.
     
  2. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Usually /scripts/upcp --force will fix most issues. You should also run sysup, too to ensure all the necessary packages are installed.
     
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    Afer you have done as Blue|Fusion suggests, if you are still having the problem, post the output from:

    netstat -lpn
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. gpreston

    gpreston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    West Chester, PA
    Ran the update script through the WHM web interface and after it finished I was able to use HTTPS to access both cPanel and WHM. So I think that it went through and fixed everything that may have been missed the first time. *crosses fingers*
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice