Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

This has got me stumped - Is anyone clever enough?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by happydj, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. happydj

    happydj Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Hello

    Let me tell you what happened and hopefully you will be able to point me out in one direction or another so I can get this sorted. Now as I am sure you will see when you read through this, my koow-how isn't very good. So I will tell you what I can remember.

    I am running WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.2-R119 CentOS 4.3 i686 WHM X v3.1.0

    I logged into WHM and was presented with the security warning for frontpage extentions and also saying I should update MySQL to 4.1 but check the box to use 4.0 passwords. So this is exactly what I done.

    After doing this - alot of things arnt working. No images on some sites etc. Sometimes the CSS file can't be found. Also, when i put domainname/cpanel or domainname/whm - i get a blank white page. Also, when i try to login to an admin area, then I also get presented with a white screen (blank)

    Here are a few links and examples:
    http://www.yidols.co.uk - not showing images/CSS file
    http://www.yidols.co.uk/administrator - not showing login page
    http://www.pwsupport.net/staff - not showing login page
    http://www.pwsupport.net - not showing image logo at top of page
    http://www.forfreeforum.net - not showing CSS or image logo

    I know the images are in the correct locations because I have never touched the server since the 'upgrade'

    If anyone could shed any light on this - or if you need more information - just tell me how to do it and I will get what info you need.

    Thanks to everyone for reading this and thanks very much in advance to anyone that can shed some light or reply.
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    How, precisely, did you go about upgrading MySQL? What, if anything, did you then do?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    open /etc/my.cnf and make sure the line old-passwords exists under the [mysqld] section

    if not then add it and then

    service mysql restart
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. elix

    elix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Using old-passwords is really not a good idea and it's probably better just to recompile Apache / PHP.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. dave9000

    dave9000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    891
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    arkansas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Little confused here, what difference does recompiling apache/php have to do with using old style 4.0 mysql format passwords ?

    My understanding is that mysql 4.0 uses a 16 char password hash and 4.1 uses a 41 char hash which are not backwards compatiable which is why if you have existing programs that were setup under mysql4.0 you have to use old-passwords in the my.cnf so mysql 4.1 will compare the password hash correctly.

    As far as recompiling apache/php , my understanding is that you have to do this anyway to load the new mysql client libraries into the apache/php
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. dgbaker

    dgbaker Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    343
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Dave - You are correct on your assumptions. The old style format MUST be there for existing clients who had databases before the upgrade.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. katmai

    katmai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    small question. did you recompile apache+php after the mysql upgrade?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice