The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

this is the stupidist thing i ever seen

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AbeFroman, Oct 15, 2002.

  1. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    For security reasons, shell access is not enabled by default. In order to activate shell access on your account, you will need to fax or mail a copy of your driver's license, passport or other photo id to customer service.

    This says this even when ssh is enabled, why does it do that?

    how many hosting companies make someone fax a drivers license?
     
  2. mikerayner

    mikerayner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:3b47dce1f1][i:3b47dce1f1]Originally posted by AbeFroman[/i:3b47dce1f1]

    For security reasons, shell access is not enabled by default. In order to activate shell access on your account, you will need to fax or mail a copy of your driver's license, passport or other photo id to customer service.

    This says this even when ssh is enabled, why does it do that?

    how many hosting companies make someone fax a drivers license?
    [/quote:3b47dce1f1]
    we do !
     
  3. AbeFroman

    AbeFroman BANNED

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2002
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh
     
  4. Tom Pyles

    Tom Pyles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I've seen this in Web Hosting Talk before....I was surprised at the number of hosts that take precautions such as this....
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    we do. if you gonna give someone the keys to your house you better at the very least know who the hell it is your are letting in.
     
  6. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    We require it too, along with a stated reason of why you need ssh access.
     
  7. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We require a fax/scan of a picture ID.

    We also require fingerprints, eye scans, and dna.:p
     
  8. bert

    bert Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Abe - I put that in there myself (on the Xskin). We not only ask the customer to fax a legal document, such as a drivers license, we also reserve the right to refuse to give shell access even with the proper documents. In addition we don't give shell access to anyone who is not a legal resident of the US and we have them sign and fax a form along with the legal document. We then have a multitude of ways to log their activity and we monitor it every day. If something happens, I can assure you they will go jail.

    If you think this is stupid, think twice...
     
  9. Omar

    Omar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We also do not give out shell access, AT ALL.

    It is very dificult to lock-down shell access and make it &safer&, so we just do not provide it to customers, full-stop.

    - Omar
     
  10. rupdog

    rupdog Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same here no shell atall , NO WAY I am letting anyone in my bedroom :p
     
  11. hostultra

    hostultra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2002
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    you can run shell commands with a cgi script, there is even a cgi script which emulates telnet via the browser, is that any different from giving real shell access?
     
  12. rich2

    rich2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    we offer it on a need to use basis, ie, i will enable it for the customer to run a script, then disable when finished. seems to work well, and i can isolate who is on where since not many people end up needing it in the first place
     
  13. moronhead

    moronhead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    [quote:046e67389b][i:046e67389b]Originally posted by hostultra[/i:046e67389b]

    you can run shell commands with a cgi script, there is even a cgi script which emulates telnet via the browser, is that any different from giving real shell access?[/quote:046e67389b]
    No, it's not. I'm afraid you are right.

    I'm looking forward to the day when Cpanel has got some kind of solution to this, similar to a &virtual dedicated& or &virtual private& server, entirely isolating each hosting account to its own space and yet allowing shell access.
     
Loading...

Share This Page